Skip to content

Margaritaville…

February 22, 2011

Hey guys!!!

Boy today was a day.  I was running around like a chicken with my head cut off all day!!! Gahh I hate when that happens.  I didn’t take a break.  I burnt my arm.  All for a slow service!!

We had a few new salads on the menu today. They all need a little fine tuning, but they were a good start…

———–

Blackened Chicken Corn Salad:

Blackened chicken, grape tomatoes, grilled corn, red onions, queso fresca, romaine lettuce, buttermilk dressing.

Not a new salad, but people love the blackened chicken!! Especially with the creamy buttermilk dressing that surrounds it!

Jerk Chicken Salad:

Romaine lettuce, roasted pineapple, jerk spiced chicken, red onions, roasted pineapple vinaigrette.

I feel this salad needed more of a “kick”.  Next time I will up the jerk marinade and maybe add a few more components.  The vinaigrette was fabulous though!!

Watercress Salad:

Watercress, shaved radish, sliced pear, pomegranate vinaigrette, pomegranate seeds.

I loved, loved, loved this dressing!!! This was a light, refreshing and sweet salad! Love the POM seeds in it too!

Mixed Greens Salad:

Spring mix lettuce, pickled fennel, toasted macadamia nuts, cucumber, red onion, champagne vinaigrette

This was my first time pickling fennel,  I actually kind of liked it!

Hummus Layer Salad:

Homemade hummus, shredded lettuce and artichoke salad.

The artichoke salad was: marinated artichoke hearts, kalamata olives, tomatoes and cucumbers.

Panzanella Salad:

Crusty baguettes, capers, cucumbers, red and yellow bell peppers, red and yellow tomatoes, basil, red onion, EVOO, red wine vinegar.

This salad didn’t go over as well as I thought it would.  I liked it, alot.  People said it was too heavy on the vinegar.  Maybe they were right.  I’m just biased to vinegary things.  I think I’ll toast the bread more next time around and hold back on the vinegar.  At any rate, I thought it was delicious.

Paella Salad:

Saffron rice, onions, garlic, white wine, assorted spices, mussels, clams, shrimp, chicken, chorizo sausage, parsley, green onions.

I love the concept of this salad.  While it was good, it needs some fine tuning.  I will definitely be using chicken on the bone next time [only had chicken breast on hand]. I definitely ate my fair share of mussels and clams as I cooked them though.

Grilled Sweet Potato Salad:

Sweet potatoes, corn, peppers, cumin, spicy chipotle vinaigrette, green onions.

This is one of my favorite salads, ever!  It’s so good.  The spicy dressing goes so well with the sweet potatoes!  A must try salad!

Like I said before, service was SO slow.  One of my rock stars, Heather won employee of the month today!! Yayyy!  Well deserved for sure!  So we made it a point to clean up super fast and grab a celebratory drink after work!  We went to a local bar, Dixies.  Did you know today was National Margarita Day?? Well we did.  So we celebrated with one very large margarita with salt of course.  It was delicious.   However it went down super easy, so I stuck to the one and headed back home! Didn’t want to have another repeat of last Monday.

Now it’s time for some relaxation and hydration [I’m so dehydrated!!]  I never drink enough water when I work long shifts.  One thing I have to work on for sure.

I have the day off tomorrow, so who knows what will be in store!

See you tomorrow readers!!!!!!!

Goodnight!

Vanessa 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

