Skip to content

Gr-gr-granola!

March 16, 2011

I may have stumbled upon my new favorite granola. Seriously, this stuff is crack-tastic.

I found the recipe at Clutching My Coffee [I LOVE the blog name!! :-)].  Check her site for the recipe!

First I started with rolled oats in a bowl and to it added cinnamon and salt.

I gave it a little stir to incorporate everything.

Then in a saucepan, I combined brown sugar, honey and canola oil.

I stirred all the ingredients together on a medium low heat, just until the sugar has dissolved and it’s syrupy in consistency.

In the original recipe, it just calls for vanilla extract.  Well that just wouldn’t do.

So I busted out the Mexican vanilla and almond extract.  I added about 1/2 tsp. of each.

Then I added the syrup to the oats.

Ooh. Ahh..

I made sure to give it a good stir so that every piece of oat had a bit of stickiness on it.

Once mixed, I transferred the oat mixture to a sheet pan lined with a Silpat [you can use parchment].

I made sure to evenly spread oat the oats so that way they all get a chance to get c-r-u-n-c-h-y!

I popped them into a 325 degree F preheated oven for about 10 minutes.

While the oats were in the oven, I gave some whole, raw almonds a chop.

FYI: Almonds are one of my favorite nuts.

Then I took the oats out of the oven and mixed in the almonds.

Remembering to spread the mixture out evenly again.  Then I put it back in the oven for another 10 minutes.

Next I grabbed some shaved coconut.

It’s funny how much your taste buds can change over the course of years.  I vaguely remember not being a huge fan of coconut as a child.  Now I love it. Go figure.

Anyways, back to the delicious granola…

After 10 minutes, I folded in the coconut and spread the mixture out again.

Back in the oven it went for another five minutes.

Finally, the granola was finished!!

Seriously. I can’t stop eating this.

I mean toasted coconut.  Toasted almonds.  Vanilla. Cinnamon.

It’s SO good, I can’t even take it.

This would be good on anything from a breakfast smoothie or oats to yogurt or ice cream.

Something tells me I’ll be making this for a long time to come.

The best part is that there are plenty of clusters to go around.  And I love me some granola clusters.

Ok have you had enough about my granola gushing?? I haven’t.

I’m going to go eat another handful.

Have a good night!!

Vanessa 🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2011 10:47 pm

    Whoooo this looks tasty!! I love granola recipes, and this one is kind of different!

    • March 17, 2011 9:58 pm

      I’m always searching for a good recipe for granola. This may not be the healthiest but this is SO good, you need to try it!!

  2. March 22, 2011 12:36 pm

    I just made this again this a.m. The smell of it is intoxicating!

Trackbacks

  1. More Nutrients Please. « Life Undeveloped.

Leave a Reply

