Skip to content

Sleepy Beignet Day

March 26, 2011

I know I say this almost everyday, but I was SO tired this morning.

I don’t know if it’s allergies or something else but I could not snap out of the haze I was in.

I thought a good breakfast would help.

An english muffin with smashed banana, sunflower seed butter and cinnamon.

A yogurt bowl with cracktastic granola, blueberries and blackberries.

This english muffin was especially delicious…

Think of it as a spin on an open faced peanut butter and banana sandwich.

You really can never go wrong with yogurt, granola and berries.

————-

It was one of those days at work where it just seemed to kick my booty.

There’s was so much to do and not enough time.

Then I had a blender just explode on me.

Then produce came late.

Then one of my rockstars got called into her other job.

Fantabulous.

Anyways, despite all of today’s hardships, the food came out excellent!

Mustard Potato Salad:  Red bliss potatoes, green onions, hard boiled eggs, whole grain mustard dressing.

I’m loving vinaigrettes on potato salads lately.  It’s a lot healthier than glops of mayonnaise.

Haricot Vert and Tomato Salad: Blanched haricot vert, chunked vine ripe tomatoes, caramelized shallots, sherry vinaigrette, sliced almonds.

I am in love with the combination of the roasted shallots, sherry vinegar and green beans. You really should try it.

Pastrami Salmon:  House cured salmon “pastrami style”, which means: molasses glaze and spice mixture.  The salmon was laid on top of arugula lightly tossed with a mustard dressing.  Accompanied by a tomato cucumber caper relish, red onions and hard boiled eggs.

I think this dish is growing on people here.  We went through more than we usually do.  It’s good, just time consuming.

Creole Shrimp Salad: Romaine lettuce, creole spiced shrimp, grilled corn, grape tomatoes, red onions, beignet croutons, ranch dressing.

People love shrimp down here.  So we went through a lot of this salad.  I love those beignet croutons.

Arugula Citrus Salad: Arugula, grapefruit and orange segments, goat cheese, candied walnuts, citrus vinaigrette.

A very light and refreshing salad. There’s just something about citrus segments that I love.

Curry Cauliflower Salad:  Cauliflower, red curry paste, coconut milk, parsley, red onions, endive, pine nuts, garbanzo beans.

The first time I attempted this salad, I was very weary about it.  This time I decided to be creative and try a different approach.  It came out much much better and the customers love it too!

Greek Chicken Salad: Romaine lettuce, pepperoncinis, kalamata olives, red onions, grape tomatoes, pulled chicken, feta cheese, cucumbers, red wine vinaigrette.

Greek salads are probably one of my top five favorite salads.  I just love all of the Mediterranean ingredients.

So as per usual we had leftover beignet dough.

I fried it and dusted them in powedered sugar!

I love beignet day!

I ate way too many of those.

This was a pretty busy service. We were facing the NY Knicks so I’m sure everyone was coming to see Carmelo. The game itself was sold out.  Before opening we had over 28 reservations, which is a lot for our restaurant.

Needless to say I was so glad when the night was over and Bobcats won [I think].  It’s really sad I work where the game is being played but never know the score. Shame on me.

It’s raining right now in Charlotte. Something tells me it won’t take very long to crash tonight.

I unfortunately have to work tomorrow, on a Sunday. It’s a prep day so hopefully it won’t be a long day.

Hope you all had a great Saturday night!

Goodnight!

Vanessa 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

