Skip to content

Caramelized Banana What?!

March 27, 2011

Like most people, I loathe working on a Sunday.

Especially a rainy, chilly Sunday.

In my mind the perfect Sunday is all about taking advantage of what the day has to offer.

Luckily today wasn’t a long day and I was off work by 3pm.

While at work though, I decided to bake something when I got home.

Caramelized Banana Bread

I saw this recipe on Shutterbean’s site. If you haven’t checked out her site, you should jump over there after your finished here.  She has an amazing blog and the food she makes is awesome!

Check her site for the recipe.

First I halved a few bananas.

Then I put sugar and water in a pan on the stove over medium heat.

I let it come to a boil.

Then waited for it to turn amber in color.  Once it was a light amber, I took it off the heat and added butter.

Then I laid the sliced bananas cut side down in the caramel sauce.

Just for a minute.

I then got my loaf pan, greased it, and laid the sliced bananas cut side down along the bottom.

I poured the extra caramel sauce overtop the bananas.

Mmh. I could have just stopped here and ate the bananas swimming in caramel.

In a separate bowl, I mashed some bananas.

Then I mashed the bananas with the remaining sugar.

Then added the eggs and vanilla.

I added the dry ingredients [flour, cinnamon, salt, baking powder]  to the wet.  Lastly adding the oil.

I then poured the finished batter over the top of the bananas in the loaf pan.

I gave it a few taps to get the air bubbles out.

Then placed it in a preheated 325 degree F oven for about 50 minutes.  I just used the trusty toothpick test. Comes out clean, you’re good!

I cooled the bread in the pan first for about 10-15 minutes.

This isn’t even the bread’s good side and it looks good.

Brace yourself.

Seriously.

I then carefully inverted the bread onto a cutting board and continued to let it cool.

How gorgeous is this bread!

I love how you can see the speckles in the banana slices.

It’s the little things.

The loaf pan I have, is a bit larger than the one the recipe calls for, so it’s not as high.

But I promise, it’s just as delicious.

I can’t stop eating this.

My rockstars at work are going to love me tomorrow for making this 🙂

I also had a thought what if you made little caramelized banana muffins ????

Oh man.

I smell trouble.

Rockstars, if I’m late to work tomorrow, you know why.

I’ve gone into banana bread comma.

Now go make this. I’m serious. You won’t regret it.

Thanks to Shutterbean for the recipe and inspiration, you rock 🙂

———–

In other news, I have a game tomorrow. You know what that means, late night post!

Did you all enjoy your Sunday?  Do anything fun?

I need some fun in my life. As well as a vacation.

Sigh…

Goodnight!

Vanessa 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2011 8:41 pm

    Wow… this looks pretty amazing!! Caramel and bananas… wow..

    I made the same thing the other night (sugars + dairy free butter + bananas) let it caramelize and then added rum and set it on fire!! WOO it was fantastic!!

Leave a Reply

