Skip to content

An Unconventional Pizza Pie

April 2, 2011

When thinking of what to have for dinner tonight, I had no idea where to start.

It’s amazing.  How can I have all this food in the house, yet can’t find something to make??

It should be noted that I ask myself that question on a daily basis. I know, I know.

As I was browsing through my lazy susan.  I came across an open bag of garbanzo bean flour.

Hmm…

Gears started rolling in my head.

I remember a while back looking at a recipe for socca pizza crust.

Eureka!

I  now know what I wanted for dinner.

I  saw the recipe over at The Edible Perspective.

Please see her recipe for exact measurements and instructions 🙂

To make the crust, all I did was add all of the ingredients into a bowl and mixed it up.

Ingredients included: garbanzo bean flour, water, applesauce, salt and pepper, dried herbs [basil, thyme, rosemary, oregano], garlic powder and olive oil.

Then I greased an 8 inch round pan. I used a springform pan.

In went the pizza crust ingredients.

I gave it a few taps to spread it out and get rid of any bubbles.

Then I baked it for around 30-40 minutes in a preheated 375 degree F oven.

While the crust was baking I prepped the pizza toppings!

First up, sauce.

I minced up a few cloves of garlic and sauteed it until golden brown.

Then I added a can of whole peeled tomatoes and a few spoonfuls of tomato paste to the garlic.

I gave it a quick stir.

Then I added the seasonings to the pot.

Seasonings included: dried basil, oregano, thyme, sugar, salt and pepper, red pepper flakes.

I let it simmer for about 15-20 minutes and then blended it up.

Now that the sauce was done, I prepped a few vegetables.

Grape tomatoes, zucchini, bell peppers.

I also prepped some red onion and spinach and grabbed some parmesan cheese.

By the time I was finished prepping the toppings, my crust was finished.

Doesn’t it look neat with all of the cracks running through it?

I let the crust cool for a few minutes, then I laid on the toppings and baked it for another 5-10 minutes.

This was a very different type of pizza crust, but in a good way.

I felt “better” and “healthier” eating it. Not sure about the stats on it though.

I also had a side salad to go along with it too.

I only ate about half of it, because the crust is actually very filling.  Excited for the leftovers though! 🙂

I’ll be spending the rest of the night on my couch, watching movies and eating cookies and chocolate sherbert.

What did I say about being healthy??

Goodnight 🙂

Vanessa

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 3, 2011 8:26 pm

    Ooooh it looks so good!! Glad you enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

