Skip to content

Blueberries and Yogurt

April 4, 2011

I was going through my fridge today and instantly knew what I wanted to make today.

I had blueberries.

I had yogurt.

I had eggs.

Cue Blueberry Yogurt Cake.

I saw this recipe over at Shutterbean and immediatey bookmarked it.

Check out her site for the original recipe πŸ™‚

I first started off with butter and sugar.

I creamed them together.

Then I added eggs and vanilla and mixed them until they were combined thoroughly.

In a separate bowl, I sifted together all of the dry ingredients.

Dry ingredients being A.P. flour, salt, baking soda, baking powder.

Next I gradually added the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients.

Then I stirred in the yogurt.

This batter is GOOD.

Then I measured out some blueberries.

I love the color.

Then I folded in blueberries into the cake batter.

Now the assembly…

First butter and flour a pan. Β I used a glass pyrex. Β It worked just fine.

Then pour half of the cake batter into the greased pan.

Then I prepped the topping.

I just simply combined chopped walnuts, brown sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg in a bowl.

On top of the bottom layer of cake batter, I sprinkled half of the topping on top of that.

Then I poured the remaining batter in the pan on top of the topping.

To the remainder of the topping, I added some butter to it and gave it a quick mix.

Then spread it all on top of the batter.

In a preheated 375 degree F oven it went for about 45 minutes, until it passed the toothpick test!

Out came this beauty.

This is some serious stuff.

Every time I go into my kitchen I grab another bite of this.

The topping is so addicting.

In terms I’ve said before, it is cracktastic.

The yogurt gives the cake a fabulous texture. Β I don’t know why I’ve never added it in anything before.

This cake can probably be adapted to make different versions of it.

Cranberry. Blackberry. Whatever-kind-of-berry.

Due to the addictive nature of this cake, it will most likely be coming into work with me tomorrow.

That is if it makes it until tomorrow.

I’m off to try to enjoy the rest of this gorgeous day!!

See you all tomorrow πŸ™‚

Vanessa

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2011 6:42 pm

    OMG….this cake looks so delicious! What a good way to use up some of the blueberries in my freezer from last year! I’m going to make this for an upcoming brunch and call it a “coffee cake.” Thanks for posting! πŸ™‚

    • April 4, 2011 8:09 pm

      You are SO welcome! It’s so good, you won’t be disappointed. I think it could pass as a “coffee cake”. That’s what I’ll be eating alongside my coffee tomorrow πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

