Skip to content

One memorable dinner

April 9, 2011

I was looking forward to dinner literally all day today. My Aunt’s sister flew in from Singapore the other day and to celebrate we had reservations at one of my all time favorite Charlotte restaurants. The Fig Tree.

**note. I’m blogging from my iPhone so the pictures are a little rough. Sometimes it’s just not appropriate to bust out my camera in a nice restaurant. **

So first up was some freshly made country bread with a dish of roasted garlic purée.

Bestill my heart. Anyone that knows me, knows I have a weakness for roasted garlic.

Then we shared some appetizers.

I went with the duck confit.
Description: Ashley Farms Duck Confit with House Made Pappardelle,Chanterelle mushrooms and Mascarpone Broth with Fried Quail Egg.

20110409-101803.jpg

<a

Ohmygosh. This was so good. I could have ordered this as my entree and been completely satisfied.

The others got the escargot which is absolutely to die for. They serve it with a Gorgonzola sauce that is so lethal I could drink it.

Excuse this blurry picture…

For my salad I ordered the Baby Spinach Salad which had a hardboiled quail egg, warm bacon and a maple vinaigrette.

20110409-101813.jpg

<a

Then came the entrees…

Lord help us.

I got the pork chop.

It was a spinach and Brie stuffed grilled Eden Farms Berkshire Pork Chop with polenta fries, haricot verts and a maple-smoked bacon cream sauce.

20110409-101819.jpg<br

This was incredible. The pork chop was so flavorful, the haricot verts were crisp and the polenta fries were delicious! Oh. And the sauce! I will tell you that this place has some phenomenal sauces. Something which is important to me in a dish.

After those courses, we really should gave called it quits. Done. Finito.

But we didn't.

We ordered some French press coffee and beignets.

20110409-101845.jpg

<a

They were served with a warm cinnamon creme anglaise and coffee gelato.

Seriously. No. Words.

20110409-101856.jpg

<a

These were some very full but happy diners 🙂

So funny story.

For the longest time I thought I lost my favorite pair of black flats.

Well today they were lost no more.

20110409-101912.jpg

Where were they?

In a suitcase that I haven’t used since September!!

I still cant believe it.

Now I’m off to snuggle in my bed and fall into a deep sleep until my alarm annoyingly wakes me up in the morning.

Hello Long Sunday workday.

Imma coming…..

Goodnight!

Vanessa

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2011 3:36 pm

    Your meal selections look so good.. you’ve given me some inspiration to try and recreate that stuffed pork. Have a good weekend.

Leave a Reply

