Skip to content

Not Your Average Pancakes

April 11, 2011

Today was yet another gorgeous day here in Charlotte!!  I’m glad I got to enjoy this one!

The other day I bought a container of strawberries with every intention on making one of Tracy’s recreations.

Roasted Strawberries.

Yes that sounds totally weird.  However I assure you it’s totally not.

They are totally delicious though.

First I hulled and halved the strawberries like so.

Then I made the delicious “marinade” if you will.

Balsamic reduction, maple syrup, salt and olive oil.

Then it’s time for the berries to go swimming.

Oh yeah.

I spread them out on a parchment lined sheet pan and popped them into a preheated 350 degree F oven for 45 minutes.

And you get these babies.

SO good.

Hop on over to Tracy’s site, and check out the exact recipe for my newest addiction.

But wait!

I had an alternative motive for roasting those strawberries.

Let’s move on, shall we?

I had some very ripe bananas hanging out on my counter.

So I searched for a new recipe for banana pancakes.

And thanks to the folks over at Food 52, I found one that immediately stood out to me. Check out their site for the recipe!

First I mixed together oats, almond milk, a beaten egg, yogurt and sugar in a bowl.

In a separate bowl, I sifted together the dry ingredients.

A.P. flour, baking powder and salt.

Then I gently stirred in the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients.

Then let it just hang out for about 10 minutes or so.

In another bowl, I mashed together banana and baking soda.

And then added the banana mixture to the batter along with some melted butter.

Mix until just incorporated.

This is where the original recipe ends, but I decided to add a little cinnamon and a splash of vanilla.

If I can get away with it, I’d add those two ingredients to everything. I love it.

So I mixed it all up.

Then it was time to make some flapjacks!

Gave it a quick flip!

I only used about half the batter today.  I just covered the rest and stuck it in the fridge.

HELLO!! Breakfast tomorrow!!

Anyways, remember those strawberries?

Yeah, I did it.

I topped the banana pancakes with roasted strawberries and toasted coconut.

Mmmh!!! These were some fabulous pancakes!

No drizzle of maple syrup needed here.  Just keep those strawberries coming!

I liked the flavor of these pancakes too!  Not too overpowering with banana.  The oats were a great addition too!

You guys should love me.

As I was taking pictures of these pancakes, I was getting buzzed by a bunch of freaking bees. I think they were all having a party and I crashed it.  There were wasps and bumble bees.

So I had to take a break in between shoots to spray them. You know the spray that shoots like 20 feet?? I’m a wuss when it comes to things like bees and bugs.  I don’t want to touch them or be near them.

Anyways, the bees have now vacated and I enjoyed my pancakes.

All is good in the world.

Don’t forget to check out the recipes for the roasted strawberries and pancakes! You won’t regret it!

Enjoy!

Vanessa 🙂

Are you guys following me on Twitter yet???

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2011 5:12 pm

    Ok, this looks really really good. I have never roasted any type of berry before! Now, I need too. I keep meaning to grill peaches though. This post makes me wish I had the day off tomorrow so I could sleep in and make delicious pancakes.

    • April 12, 2011 5:40 pm

      Thanks!! I never roasted a berry before either!! They are so, so good! I keep dreaming up putting them on top on french toast!! I love grilled fruit! I think grilled pineapple is my favorite! 🙂

Leave a Reply

