Skip to content

An Impromptu Dinner.

April 19, 2011

I finally arrived back into North Carolina today!  I swear that the drive back always feels longer than the drive there.

I stopped off at the Lake Norman exit to get gas and stop by my Aunt and Uncle’s house for what was suppose to be a quick cup of coffee.

As soon as I got there, I was greeted by this little darling.

Vanna came to say hi!

Dirty beard and all.

After playing catch up from the weekend and downing my coffee, I was swayed into staying for dinner.

I wasn’t going to at first, but then the thought of cooking after a long day of driving totally changed my mind.

My Aunt was in charge of the scallops.

To be honest, I’m not sure what she seasoned them with.  All I can remember is that there was some coriander in there.

She seared them in some butter.

Because butter makes everything better, duh.

I was in charge of the cous cous.

I just sauteed an onion and garlic up, added some dried herbs and spices and then the cous cous.

I stirred it around until the cous cous got all toasted and golden.  Then I added some chicken stock and covered it.

Once all of the liquid was absorbed, I folded in some roasted peppers, marinated asparagus and kalamata olives.

Toasting cous cous is such a favorite thing of mine.  It really does change the outcome.

Try it, I promise you’ll like it. 🙂

My Aunt also threw together a quick salad.

Romaine lettuce, tomatoes, squash, capers, feta cheese, peppers, red onion and a quick homemade vinaigrette.

I love salads.

Especially when someone else makes them.

These were the spice crusted scallops, after searing.

We served them with some lemon wedges.

My Uncle also made some bubbly water with lemon to drink.

I love bubbles.

I helped clean the table a bit and read a magazine and then I had to get back to my apartment.

Seriously it always feels so weird coming back here when I’ve been gone for a few days.  It’s a weird vibe.

Well back to work tomorrow. Blegh.

Now I must catch up on what’s going on in the blogosphere and emails.

Unpacking can wait.

I have to have my priorities straight.

Goodnight!

Vanessa 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

