Skip to content

Hash It Out

April 20, 2011

I’d like to start by saying how hard it is to awake to the sound of an alarm, when you’ve gone almost a week without it.

Ugh.

Many snoozes later, I was up and downing some serious coffee.  I wasn’t too hungry this morning so I just grabbed a granola bar and a piece of fruit to go.

As the day wore on, I started craving some breakfast food.

I thought, “Darn, why didn’t I make breakfast this morning?!”.

So when it came time to make dinner tonight, I knew I wanted breakfast for dinner.

No questions.

Ladies and gents.  Let me introduce to you the makings of a perfect potato hash.

Hash, readers.  Readers, hash.

Now that you’re introduced, let’s get started…

For the hash I used: a parboiled potato [diced], diced red and green bell pepper, minced garlic, diced onion, chopped chicken sausage [Italian style], Hungarian paprika, italian seasonings, eggs and butter.

First I melted the butter in a pan.

Then I added the sausage, onions, garlic and peppers into the hot butter.

I gave it a quick saute, just until the onions are translucent and the sausage is browned.

Like so.

Then I added the diced, parboiled potato into the mix.

I took this time to season the dish.

I added the paprika, italian seasonings and salt and pepper.

I mixed it all together and let it cook until the potatoes got brown and fully cooked through.

While the hash was finishing up and getting all kinds of tasty, I heated up a separate pan and popped an egg in it.

This my friends, to me, is the quintessential topping for a good, authentic hash.

To each is own though.

This was spot on.

Before plating the hash, I decided to add a few drops of worcestershire and hot sauce into the mix.

Best. Decision. Ever.

Other than the egg, you know know what else is a MUST when eating hash?

Good, old-fashioned, tomato ketchup!

Mmh mmh g-o-o-d!

This was exactly what I wanted and I couldn’t be happier about it.

I even saved a little for leftovers for tomorrows breakfast! I can’t wait!

Well I’m off to do the dishes, and hopefully get to sleep at a decent hour tonight.

Although this meal left me feeling a little sluggish, so I don’t think that will be a problem.

Goodnight!

Vanessa 🙂

P.S.  I asked this question on Twitter and I’ll ask it here too:  ***Charlotte foodies!  Where is the best fish market around here? I’m in need of some chilean sea bass on Friday.  My guess would be The Fresh Market?  Would appreciate any suggestions!! Thanks 🙂 ****

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

