Skip to content

Soba

April 26, 2011

Today was one of those days where I wish I had someone to cook dinner instead of myself.

It was a long, tiring day at work between making peach cobblers and cutting out 3,000 biscuits.

I was just not feeling inspired.

So I got home, did some laundry and then came across a package of soba noodles in the pantry.

 I knew I wanted them as soon as I saw them.

From there, I just channeled some Asian flavors and I had dinner. Wallah.

I did not take step by step photos, simply because I didn’t really know what my steps were going to be.  I just made it up as I went along.

Sometimes that turns out better than having a game plan.

So what is exactly in this made up dish do you ask?

First I just boiled some soba noodles in salted, boiling water.

Five minutes later, I drained the noodles, reserving some of the water.

Then I chopped up some onion, red bell pepper, baby bok choy, radish, basil, cilantro, garlic and zucchini.

In a saute pan I heated up a combination of coconut and toasted sesame oil.

Once hot I sauteed the onion and garlic.  Then added the rest of the veggies, minus the radish and herbs.

Once the vegetables were almost finished, I added the makings of the sauce to the pan.

This is where it was a bit “mish mash”.  I added soy sauce, pasta water, sriracha sauce, sweet chili sauce, sunbutter [didn’t feel like opening peanut butter], rice wine vinegar and mirin.

I didn’t measure the amounts.  To me, it’s all about the taste. You can usually tell what it’s lacking, whether it’s something salty, sweet, sour or tangy.

I let the sauce ingredients and vegetables meld together for a little and then I added the soba noodles, herbs, radish and gave it all a toss.

I let it go just until the noodles were heated back through.

I also gave it a sprinkling of black and white sesame seeds for good measure.

It also should be noted that I did not add any additional salt or pepper to this [Just in the noodle water].  Sometimes it’s just not necessary.

I’m glad I was able to get outside and snap a few quick photos while the sun was still out!

Suppose to get some storms tonight [I think].  Hope it doesn’t keep me awake!! This girl needs her sleep tonight.

Hope you guys had a great Tuesday!

We’re almost to Hump day! Yayy!

Goodnight 🙂

Vanessa

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2011 1:21 pm

    Looks good!! I love these throw together type meals! yum!!

    Your pictures are gorgeous too!!

Leave a Reply

