Skip to content

A Very Special Birthday Salad

April 27, 2011

Remember that spinach salad that I served on a very special birthday?

Well I decided to make it again today.

I’ve also gotten requests for the recipe and because I love you guys, of course I had to comply.

First let’s start with one of the best parts.

The bacon.

To keep the salad the same, I’m using the same jar of fig preserves as I did on the night of the birthday dinner.

I just laid out the bacon on a broiler pan [you can definitely use a sheet pan] and poured a little of the preserves into a bowl.

Then using a pastry brush, I generously brushed the fig preserves all over the bacon.

Mmmh.

Then I put them in a preheated 350 degrees F oven for about, let’s say, 15-20 minutes or until desired doneness.

Hello lovelies…

Just put the pan to the side to cool.  You’ll mess with them later.

Next is the dressing.

For this I used a sherry vinaigrette.

To make it you will need the following,

Sherry Vinaigrette:

Ingredients:

 1/4 cup Sherry vinegar

1 Garlic clove, minced

1 tsp. Dijon mustard

2 Tbsp. Sugar

1 tsp. Dried thyme

1/3 cup Olive oil

Salt and pepper [to taste]

Method:

All I did was mince up the garlic and threw it into the jar along with everything else, gave it a shake and it was done. Feel free to blend this as well.

It should be noted that when I made this dressing previously for the birthday dinner, I added some caramelized shallots in the mix too.  I prefer it with the shallots, but I was out :-/  Ho hum.

At this time, I chopped my bacon into pieces and lightly tossed a couple handfuls of spinach with the dressing and plated it.

Now it was time for the last part, the egg.

I am a huge fan of poached eggs on salads.  I still prefer the old fashioned way of poaching with a pot of water, but I’m open to new techniques.  So when I heard about this tip from Bon Appetit magazine, I thought I would give it a try.

According to Bon Appetit, in a ramekin crack the egg and add to 1/2 cup of water [making sure the egg is covered].  Then microwave on high for one minute.

Well the first egg I did ended up getting hard cooked.  Guess my microwave is super high. I tried again.  I broke the egg. Crap. Ok so then I tried one more time and finally had success! Phew.

To plate, sprinkle the glazed bacon pieces over the spinach and top with the egg.

This was just as good as the last time I had it.  I’m definitely going to add this to my “go-to” file.

You guys should definitely make this soon, really soon.

 Hope you guys enjoy the salad! Please let me know if you make it! I’d love to hear how you liked it!

Before I go, it also should be noted that I have the strangest blogging set up.

Every time I set something on the railing to photograph, I pray that it doesn’t fall.  That would be an epic fail.

So yes, when it’s nice and sunny out, I take pictures out on my balcony, on the railing.

Surrounded by…

Tomato and pepper plants and,

an herb garden.

They’re great company 🙂

Can’t wait until the tomatoes start to grow [I hope!!]

Ok well have a good night guys!!

It’s on the verge of storming here. Yikes. I’ve got my flashlight and matches ready.  Ya know, just in case.

Goodnight!

Vanessa 🙂

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2011 9:03 pm

    Wow! Nice garden. I would love having all those fresh herbs whenever I want. I’ve been meaning to plant a bunch of basil, but unfortunately the deer sometimes get to it (clearly they love it as much as I do).

    The salad looks great! I TOTALLY tried that Bon Appetit trick as well throughout the past week or so. Really like it, but I’ve had mixed results too. I need to figure out my power settings on my microwave and get a more dependable method…

    • April 27, 2011 10:02 pm

      Thanks! I can’t take credit for the herbs, my Aunt and Uncle gave me the herb garden as an Easter present! I hope I don’t kill them haha. You should plant some! 🙂 Yeah I had no idea my microwave was SO powerful.

  2. April 27, 2011 10:56 pm

    Looks awesome!! That bacon made me wish that I ate bacon!!

    All the blogger neighbors must think we are crazy, I know I have gotten a few funny looks from mine when I shoot outside!

    • April 28, 2011 6:50 am

      Thanks! Maybe you can glaze other things instead of bacon? I’m sure it would still be good! I don’t think I want to know what my neighbors think of my food pictures! I’ve definitely gotten “the looks’ too lol.

  3. gail wohlin permalink
    April 29, 2011 8:30 am

    I made THE SALAD last night. Had to slap my husband’s hands to keep him away from the awesome fig bacon. I just poached the egg the old fashioned way. It was the highlight of our dinner last tonight. Today I’m tackling THE CHEESECAKE. Can’t wait.

    • April 29, 2011 10:11 am

      SO glad you made it and likes it!!! Isn’t that bacon addicting?? The cheesecake is just as addictive! Enjoy 🙂

  4. Karen Shepherd permalink
    May 1, 2011 6:50 pm

    Gail Wohlin turned me on to your blog and in particular the spinach salad. OMG – You put me to shame – I almost hung up my apron. Haven’t tried the salad yet but will. How long will the dressing keep in the fridge. I’m in NJ – no chance I will have an herb garden, however my overachieving granddaughter has one and I get all my fresh herbs from her in the summer.

    • May 1, 2011 8:33 pm

      Hi Karen! Thanks for stopping by and saying hi!! I hope you try the salad!! It’s simple, but delicious. The dressing would keep for at least 5-7 days, it’s just a vinaigrette. Just be sure to blend it up again when you’re ready to use it. Ah I’m from NJ! Too funny. Thank God for your overachieving granddaughter huh?

Trackbacks

  1. Easy Peasy « Life Undeveloped.
  2. Well Balanced « Life Undeveloped.
  3. Just As I Imagined « Life Undeveloped.

Leave a Reply

