Skip to content

Well Balanced

May 2, 2011

I am fairly certain that as soon as I press publish on this post, I will be crashing hard in my bed.

But first, let me just tell you how much my body is l-o-v-i-n-g me right now.

For the first time in almost a week, I made myself a well balanced dinner!!!

I got out of work on the early side today [around 3/4ish], so I knew I wanted to make some good food tonight.  Plus my vegetables are literally dying in my fridge right now.

I had defrosted a chicken breast a few days ago, so I knew I wanted to base my meal around that.

I kept the seasonings simple on the chicken, just salt and pepper.  I pan seared it and made a quick sauce with the drippings, consisting of lemon juice, white wine, butter and parsley.  It was kind of like picatta style [without the capers].

I used a lot of fresh herbs from my “garden” in dinner tonight, which made me super happy.  I like being able to go out on my deck and pick whatever I want.  Extremely satisfying to any foodie I’m sure.

Anyways, back to dinner.

For the sweet potato, I sliced it into half moons and tossed it with olive oil, fresh rosemary, thyme, salt and pepper.  Then I stuck it in a 350 degree F oven for maybe 30 minutes or so?  Just until they were tender.  I kept the skin on and it got a bit crispy which I loved.

I was so glad I was able to salvage these fresh green beans from my vegetable drawer.

I decided to blanch them in salted water and finish cooking them with almonds, onions, salt and pepper.  As I plated it, I drizzled a little sherry vinaigrette and grated gruyere cheese over top.  I’m insanely in love with the combination of green beans, nuts, onions and sherry vinaigrette.

One of my favorite salads to date is a haricot vert salad with toasted walnuts, goat cheese, caramelized shallots and sherry vinaigrette.  But that that’s for another post.

At any rate, this dinner was simple but so flippin’ delicious to me.  Or maybe I was just really hungry.

At any rate, my body was thankful for some well needed nutrients.

Body, your welcome.

Well I’m off to get into my bed.  This girl has another early wake up call.

Goodnight!

Vanessa

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2011 8:40 pm

    That LOOKS flippin’ delicious!

Leave a Reply

