Skip to content

A Little Help From the Pantry

May 10, 2011

Today was my first day off in over two weeks.  It was a long time coming.

However I was opposite of productive today.

I decided against my almost impromptu trip because I was just not with it today.

I did get some much needed sleep though.

My plans were originally to go food shopping, but those plans were derailed by my laziness.

So for dinner, I turned to my pantry for help.

 I almost always have a can of tuna in my pantry, just for times like these.

I knew I wanted to make a salad with it, but not the stereotypical mayonnaise based one we all know and love.

I channeled some Mediterranean vibes and went that route.

I chopped up some carrot, celery, kale, kalamata olives, green bell pepper, fresh oregano and thyme and capers.

In the bowl they went with the tuna.

Then I added some red wine vinegar, olive oil, dijon mustard, garlic gold nuggets, salt and pepper and gave it a toss.

I found that the only way to mix this was to really get in there with my hands.

This is a great alternative to the mayonnaise based tuna salad that make mayonnaise haters cringe.

I love the tangy, saltiness from the capers and olives.

And yes, that is another glass of the watermelon lime aqua fresca I made yesterday.  Can’t get enough of it!

This would be great on your favorite bread, with crackers or just on its own.

I plan on eating it over some bulghur wheat for dinner.

I really don’t want to do the dishes in my sink right now.   Nor do I feel like folding the laundry that’s been sitting in my laundry basket for days.

Sigh.

Guess I better get cracking.

Hopefully I am more productive tomorrow!

Have a good night 🙂

Vanessa

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2011 9:55 pm

    Yummmy; I love the trader joe’s canned tuna…their canned salmon is amazing too! I love making fresh tuna salads this time of the year…they’re delish and refreshing. Just found your blog and I love it!

    • May 11, 2011 10:13 pm

      I have TJ’s salmon in my pantry too!! I love making salmon cakes with it!! So glad you found me 🙂 Thanks for the comment and stopping by!!

Leave a Reply

