Skip to content

Nanner Cookies

May 11, 2011

This morning when I woke up, I realized I had three dying bananas in my kitchen.

I really wanted to make something tasty out of them.  Something other than banana bread.

Then I remembered how I’ve been having a serious cookie craving lately and went that route.

I browsed a few sites because I’ve never made cookies with bananas before.

I found a recipe for Banana Oat Chocolate Chip cookies through Foodbuzz.

The recipe itself was on a blog called L-mo Cooks and Reads,  Check out her site for the original recipe.

I started off like I would any other cookie recipe, by creaming together the butter and sugar.  In this case I used both brown and granulated sugar.

Then I added an egg and vanilla and mixed until it was incorporated like so.

In a separate bowl, I mashed two bananas.

Mmh, mashed nanners.

In another separate bowl, I mixed together the dry ingredients [A.P. flour, baking soda, salt].

Then I mixed them all together with the wet ingredients.

Making sure not to over mix of course.

Then I added in a few mix-ins.

Rolled oats and chocolate.  I ran out of chocolate chips so I broke up some pieces of a semi-sweet chocolate bar.

Then I scooped them into little balls and put them on a sheet pan.

Cute little dough balls.

I baked them in a preheated 350 degree oven for 14 minutes.

Verdict?

These were delicious!  I love the banana.  Tasty spin on a traditional chocolate chip cookie.

Then halfway through baking them, I got a brilliant idea.

I added some additional mix ins of walnuts and coconut flakes.

O-M-G.  SO good.

These definitely fulfilled my cookie craving.

Now I need to stop eating them.

Be sure to check out the recipe linked above!

I’m off to watch a new movie I bought today, Blue Valentine.  It’s suppose to be a little provocative and out there.  Sometimes I’m strangely drawn to movies like that though.  Plus I really like Ryan Gosling and Michelle Williams.

Have a good night!!

Vanessa

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2011 8:51 pm

    Mmmmm they sound so good and are so pretty!!

    I love Ryan Gossling!!

Leave a Reply

