Skip to content

A New Charlotte Dinner Experience

May 12, 2011

I finally feel like I’m back to myself after working the long golf tournament.

The apartment is clean.  Laundry is done and folded.  Fridge is restocked.

Today I had dinner plans with my Aunt and Uncle, whom I haven’t seen in a couple weeks.   I knew we were going to go somewhere in Charlotte, but I had no idea where.

The decision was then left up to me.  Crap.  I’m probably the most indecisive person in the world.

I had a list of five contenders to chose from. I sent an “SOS” message on Twitter and the lovely Kelly answered back.  So I went on her page and read through her restaurant reviews.  Then I had narrowed it down to two.

I ended up choosing Customshop.

It’s a little restaurant here in Elizabeth.  I love the location.  I could literally walk to it if I wanted to.

Fun fact, my sous chef at work knows the executive chef here at Customshop!  So he always recommended the place.

I was at first completely overwhelmed by their menu.  So many things were jumping out at me, that I couldn’t think straight.  Plus I was really hungry.

We first started with some bread dressed with olive oil and spices.

When my Aunt, Uncle and I go out to eat, we are all about sharing and tasting everything.

So we got a meat and cheese board to start.

We picked three items for our board: Housemade Duck Terrine and Pistachio, Cacciatore Sweet Sausage [from NY] and Green Hill Camembert [from GA].

The duck terrine was my hands down favorite on the board. Loved it.  However you can never go wrong with a good Camembert and New York sausage.

Then we split the quail.

It was a balsamic-grilled quail with artichoke, sunchoke, honey and lemon.

Mmmh. Loved the balsamic glaze on this. The grill flavor was awesome too.  Cooked wonderfully.

I was totally tripping over what to chose for my entree.

I decided to go with the crispy duck breast.  Because really, how can you say no to crispy duck?

This was great!

The duck was as promised, crispy and seasoned well.  It was served with an almond crepe [yum!], swiss chard, kumquats and ginger.

I ate everything on this plate. It was so good.

Of course I took pictures of the other entrees at the table.

My Aunt had the sea scallops.

They were grilled and seasoned nicely, served with a sweet potato puree,  asparagus, shitakes and beets.

I only tasted the scallops and puree [both which were tasty], but my Aunt said the shitakes were incredible!!

My Uncle got a tasty bowl of comfort.

Potato gnocchi in a lamb ragu and merguez sausage.

O-M-G. Amazing.

So much flavor in that little bowl.  One of the best gnocchi dishes I’ve tasted!

We passed on the dessert because none of us really wanted anything that heavy.

I’ll definitely be back to try some more of the food coming out of this restaurant!!

We walked around a little and decided on some ice cream for dessert.

I got a small mint oreo cookie ice cream cone. Yum!

We went to Elizabeth creamery and the ice cream was definitely creamy.  It was awesome!

Now it’s time to get ready for bed.  Back to work tomorrow.

See you guys tomorrow!

Vanessa

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2011 10:49 pm

    beautiful food (as always!!)

  2. gail wohlin permalink
    May 13, 2011 8:09 am

    All looks wonderful. I would have been hard pressed to choose between the crispy duck and gnocchi, both of which I dream about.

Leave a Reply

