Skip to content

Not Your Average Soup

May 13, 2011

I’d like to start by saying that one large watermelon is way too much for one girl to eat.

I cubed some up to munch on.  I’ve made drinks out of it. I was seriously running out of ideas.

Then as I was driving home from work today, I had a “Eureka!” lightbulb moment.

Watermelon gazpacho.

I envisioned making a typical gazpacho but with a few additions to it, like watermelon.

First I roasted some roma tomatoes, shallots, zucchini and red bell peppers.

I just tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper.  I kept it simple because I knew the gazpacho itself was going to be a bit complex.

While the vegetables were roasting, I chopped up the rest of my mise en place.

Parsley, basil, cilantro [from my herb garden!!], lime zest, lime juice, cucumber, kalamata olives [my wild card ingredient].

 I also chopped up some additional bell pepper, zucchini and tomatoes to finish off the soup with.

Then I cubed up some watermelon.

There were no black seeds in this watermelon [thank God!], no picking out those pesky seeds for me!

Once the vegetables were done roasting, I put them in my VitaMix.  Also adding the watermelon, herbs, lime zest and juice, olives, half of the cucumber.

Then I went rummaging through my cabinets and fridge to find any additional things I wanted to add.

I ended up putting a decent splash of sherry vinegar [Mmh.], a tiny squirt of Sriracha sauce [I put that **** in everything] and salt and pepper.

I pulsed everything together until it was to the consistency that I desired.

At this point, I also tasted to seasoning and adjusted it as necessary.

Oh yeah.

That’s the consistency I was going after.

I then transferred the pulsed mixture to a bowl and mixed in the remainder of the chopped ingredients.

I love having a roughly pureed soup base and mixing in little rustic diced vegetables into it.

I garnished the gazpacho with some diced watermelon and chives [again from my garden!].

Since I had such a big lunch, this was the light dinner fare that I was craving.

Gazpacho, to me, is best served with a big, crusty loaf of bread.

Only problem, I didn’t have any.

Epic fail.

Guess tortilla chips will have to do.

Of course I made more than my share, so I’m banking on the flavors to continue to meld together in the fridge.

Hello fabulous leftovers.

**Reminder, get crusty bread!!**

This meal was so satisfying to me.  It reminded me of why I love to cook and why food is such a big part of my life.

I love being able to take such fresh ingredients and create something so flavorful.

I think my dream job would have to be working on a farm and being able to create dishes based on what was flourishing on property.

Sigh…

A girl can dream, can’t she?

Add it to the list…

Hope you guys have a fabulous weekend!!

Anyone doing anything fun?

I have to work tomorrow, but I’m looking forward to going berry picking with some Charlotte Food Bloggers on Sunday!

Vanessa 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

