Skip to content

Stuffed Zucchini

May 15, 2011

Today when I woke up, I had a preconceived idea for dinner.

Having an idea is one thing, executing it is a whole other ball game.

It’s not that dinner was hard to prepare, I was just not very motivated about making it.

But alas, a girl’s gotta eat.

My idea was to make stuffed zucchini.

So I cut the ends off of a zucchini and blanched it in boiling water until it started to get tender.

I drained it and let it cool for a few minutes.  Then I cut the squash in half and scooped out inside, like so.

Then I prepared and gathered the rest of my ingredients.

Ground beef, garlic, onion, herbs [basil, oregano, thyme], zucchini pulp.

The zucchini pulp is just the innards of the zucchini that I scooped out earlier.  No sense wasting it!

So to start the stuffing, I browned off the ground beef in a pan.

Then I added the vegetables [onion, garlic, spinach and frozen peppers and corn].

I was originally going to stick to the onions and garlic, but forgot I had some frozen veggies in need of some loving in my freezer.

Let’s not mention the almost dying spinach in my fridge.

Once the vegetables were wilted and cooked, I added some tomato sauce that I had opened earlier in the week.

Then I folded in the fresh herbs and removed the pan from the heat.

I then just spooned some of the filling into the hollowed out zucchini halves.

I put them stuffed side up into a baking dish and sprinkled them with some breadcrumbs and freshly grated Gruyere cheese.

I baked them for about 10 minutes or so and then broiled the top for another 3-5 minutes.

I love these stuffed zucchini halves.  The inside is warm and flavorful and the top is crispy and delicious.

I’m glad I decided to execute the idea that I had in my brain.  Totally worth it.

I thought I’d show you guys how my balcony garden is going!

This Amy’s Sugar Gem tomato plant is certainly having one heck of a growth spurt right now!!

It’s getting so tall, I feel like a proud little Mama.

My German Johnson tomato plant is coming along quite nicely too.

I also planted a red bell pepper plant.

I’m not sure how that’s suppose to grow, but it seems to be doing its thing.

The herb garden is fabulous!

The flat leaf parsley is amazing! It’s leaves are enormous!  The rosemary is doing great too.

The real star of this herb garden though is the Greek Oregano!

It keeps growing!  I love it!! Oregano has always been one of my favorite herbs, so I’m not complaining about my surplus.

I can’t wait until the tomatoes start sprouting!! That is going to be one exciting day.

Well I’m off to get a few things done before bed! Back to work tomorrow at the racetrack!!

Tomorrow I plan on recapping my first blogger meetup!! Strawberry picking with some fabulous Clt Food Bloggers!!

Stay tuned 🙂

Vanessa

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2011 10:18 pm

    I’m growing a mini garden too! I’ve been so excited to watch any growth at all. I got a plum tomato plant, but it’s being VERY slow. I really need to update everyone on things!

Leave a Reply

