Skip to content

One Of My All Time Favorites

May 17, 2011

If you’ve been reading the blog for a while, you might have heard me mention this salad once or twice.

It’s one of my all time favorites.

It all starts with some haricot vert.

I actually prefer the haricot vert over a traditional green bean.

I think it’s just how thin and crunchy they are.

Be sure that you always trim these guys before you cook them.

Nobody wants to chomp down on a stem.

Once I trimmed my haricot vert, I waited for a pot of water to boil.

I salted the water to give the beans some flavor.  This is the only opportunity to make the beans themselves flavorful.

Then I dropped them in the boiling water.

I stirred them around and let them blanch for probably I’d say about 5 minutes or so.

Note: I like my beans crunchy.

Then I transferred them directly from the water into an ice bath to shock them.

This step is key!

If you don’t shock the blanched haricot vert, they will continue to cook and become really discolored.

Who wants to eat brown, mushy green beans? Not me.

Moral of the story, shock anything you blanch.

Once the haricot vert were done, I moved on to prepping the rest of my salad components.

I julienned some shallots and caramelized them in a pan with some olive oil.

Mmh so good. I love caramelized anything.

Then I dry toasted some walnuts in the oven.

Another note:  NEVER take your eyes off nuts while toasting.  The second you walk away is the exact moment when they will burn.

Trust me.  I’ve learned this the hard way many, many times.

Then I made the dressing in a mason jar.

I like to use my sherry vinaigrette with this salad.

Once all of my components were done and cooled, it was time to assemble.

In a large enough bowl, start with the blanched haricot vert.

To those add the shallots.

Then the toasted walnuts.

Pour dressing over everything.

Season with salt and pepper.

Toss the salad.

Plate the salad and top with goat cheese crumbles.

That’s it!

Not only is this salad fresh and packed with flavor, it’s so easy to make.

As long as you don’t over cook the haricot vert, it can hold up pretty well too.

Perfect for a picnic or a hot summer day!

Hope you guys try this! Be sure to let me know if you do!

Have a great night 🙂

Vanessa

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2011 8:54 am

    Mmmmmm I love it.. can you send some over??

Trackbacks

  1. Just As I Imagined « Life Undeveloped.

Leave a Reply

