Skip to content

Breakfast for One.

May 19, 2011

Ever since I saw the loaf of Great Harvest bread that arrived on my doorstep yesterday, I knew french toast was in my near future.

No time like the present!

Looks amazing, right?

It was kind of a spontaneous mix of ingredients that I threw together as I was sipping on my first cup of coffee.

Good thing it turned out great!

First I mixed together one egg, 1/3 cup of almond milk, a few shakes of cinnamon and a dash of vanilla.

I’m always a little foggy on the correct proportions when it comes to french toast, so I just decided to wing it.

Then I prepped the rest of the ingredients.

I cut two slices of bread, quartered some strawberries, mashed a banana with a little maple syrup.

Then I took some walnuts and crushed them.

I find it easiest to put them in a plastic bag, close it and give them a whack.

I dipped the bread slices in the egg/milk mixture.

Making sure to coat all of the sides.

Then I transferred the dipped bread onto a pile of the crushed walnuts.

   

Flip and repeat.

Then I browned the bread in a pan.

Flipped them to toast the other side.

And voila!

Breakfast is served.

I layered the mashed banana in between the sliced bread and topped everything with the strawberries.

Finished with some powdered sugar.

Note: these are the same strawberries from Sunday’s strawberry picking!  Still so sweet and delicious.

This seriously hit the spot.

It was accompanied by a big cup of  french roast coffee.

I struggled to finish this plate of food. It was so filling.

But it did keep me full for what felt like forever!!  Something I struggle with when eating breakfast.

To me, I hate when you eat breakfast and two hours later you’re hungry again.

It really grinds my gears.

Anyways, tonight I went to the first Chow Down Uptown Food Truck Rally here in Charlotte with a couple bloggers!!

I’ll be posting a recap of it tomorrow!

Hope you have a good night!!

Vanessa

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2011 10:00 pm

    Wallah???? LOL “Voila!”
    Vanessa, I love the first photo…the one of the plated French toast balanced on the rail with the mug of coffee. That is a very good shot!

    • May 19, 2011 10:02 pm

      Hahaha! Oh my gosh. I’m editing that right now. Thanks for pointing that out!! It’s been a long day. Thanks for the compliment on the photo!! 🙂

  2. May 19, 2011 10:39 pm

    walnut-encrusted french toast! beauty.

Leave a Reply

