Skip to content

Yet Another Aqua Fresca

May 22, 2011

Today has been one of the hottest days of this season so far.   I spent most of it outside at the speedway.

I felt like I was melting and every time I had to do something in the cooler I thought of it as a blessing.

So when I got home I wanted needed a refreshment.

I haven’t really looked in my fridge for a couple days because I’ve been busy with work.

Today I took a gander and saw some things that were on their way to dying.

First was half of a watermelon.

I cut the rind off and cubed the rest.

I figured I could munch on it throughout the week when I don’t feel cooking anything.

I put some of the melon cubes in my Vita Mix.

Then there was the last of my strawberries.

I’m actually surprised that they lasted this far.

I cut the tops off and threw them into the mix.

Then I took a lemon, rolled it and squeezed all of it’s juices into the blender.

I added a little ice, splash of orange juice and splash of some simple syrup [equal parts sugar + water] to the fruit in the mix.

I blended it all until smooth and well incorporated.

Then I prepared my glass jar.

I threw in some ice cubes and a couple of lemon slices into the jar.

Then I poured the watermelon strawberry lemon fresca over the ice and gave it a stir with my handy dandy swizzle stick.

I’m salivating already, it looks so refreshing.

I garnished it with half of a lemon slice.

Bottoms up!

Just what the doctor ordered!

This was one of my best frescas yet!

I did wish I had some mint to muddle with it.

Today was the second meeting of the Charlotte Food Bloggers and I was so bummed that I couldn’t make it!  I heard they had quite the spread.

Some of the bloggers were bringing some strawberry flavored goodies, so thanks to my watermelon strawberry lemon fresca, I was there in spirit!!  [Thanks to Taylor’s inspiration!]

Haha, ok maybe that’s pushing it a little.

Anyways, I’m probably going to have a mish mash of dying vegetables for dinner tonight.  How lame.

But first, I’m going to relax on the couch with a movie and more fresca!

Hope everyone had a great Sunday!!

Vanessa 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. tickledtofu permalink
    May 22, 2011 10:41 pm

    My mouth is watering just looking at that fresca! It’s dripping hot here as well!

Trackbacks

  1. Friday Things « Life Undeveloped.

Leave a Reply

