Skip to content

Lunchtime at Work

May 27, 2011

There are some days that I just love eating lunch at work.

At work, there are a few girls that make KILLER Mexican food.

Oh and am I a fan of Mexican food.

I can seriously eat a taco everyday and be completely happy.  And let’s not get started on guacamole and salsa.

While working at the racetrack this week, I’ve had my fair share of Mexican food.

That means lots of cilantro.

Some people think it tastes like soap, but I for one love it.

It always amazes me how they make their salsas.

One of the easiest salsas they make is just grilled jalepenos and tomatoes.  They are grilled until they start to blister on all sides.

Then it gets blended with some cilantro and other stuff.

SO spicy, but SO good.

Pico de gallo is also a staple.

Give me a bag of chips and a bowl of pico and I’m set.

They made this hot sauce the other day that seriously knocked my socks off.

They toasted some dried chile de arbol and sesame seeds in a pan on the stove.

Then they blended it adding a little liquid.

I was eating this with chips it was so good.

It’s definitely got a big kick to it, but it definitely is my new favorite hot sauce.

I get so excited when I hear them say they are making tacos for lunch!!

Sometimes they will make fresh tortillas out of masa flour and that just makes them even better.

I almost always over fill my tortilla too.  Never fails.

The tacos are best served with a fresh squeeze of lime juice over top.

Mmhmm….

Their other favorite thing of mine that they make is Mexican posole.

It’s pretty much a Mexican soup with hominy and pork.  They have a few varied versions, green, red and white posole.

My favorite is green.

That was lunch today.

The pork was so tender and it was full of flavor!

The best way to eat a bowl of posole is with shredded cabbage, avocado, lime juice, jalepenos, chili powder on top.

Anything I can top with avocado is delicious in my book!

There have also been times where they’ve made homemade tamales and mole.

Seriously SO good…

I need to make me some tamales soon. I’ve been craving them like crazy.

If anyone ever has a chance to eat some authentic Mexican food, I highly recommend it 🙂

Just send me the leftovers 🙂

Hehe, just kidding.

Well kind of.

Hope you all have a good night!!

I’ve got an early wake up call tomorrow, have to be at work by 6 am! Yikes!

Vanessa

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 28, 2011 1:57 am

    That’s it. Coming to work with you.

    I ❤ Mexican food so, so much!

    • May 28, 2011 5:14 am

      Haha! Then you would LOVE lunch time. I warn you though, you will want a very long nap afterwards 🙂

Leave a Reply

