Skip to content

Lakeside Dining

May 31, 2011

Hey guys!!

Sorry I’ve been M.I.A. the past two days.

Sunday was the Coca Cola 600 and I worked a 16 hour day, needless to say I was tired.

Then I took yesterday off from blogging to clean the apartment.

Hope you guys are still with me!!

Today after work I went to see my Aunt and Uncle up at Lake Norman.

My Aunt has always kept impeccable gardens.

She planted so many different flowers this year that I couldn’t help but photograph them for you to see.

   

Hydrangeas, Calla Lilies, Daisies, etc.

   

   

So pretty…

After my little flower photo shoot, we decided to hop on the boat and go to dinner.

The sun was shining bright!

I think it is so cool to be able to pull up to a restaurant in a boat and park it while you dine.

We ended up going to North Harbor Club for dinner.

I was feeling pretty ravenous at this point so everything on the menu was looking tasty to me.

I ended up getting the greek salad to start.

This was just an okay salad.

I found an end piece to the frisee greens in there and there was a bit too much onion for my liking.

Plus I was wanting more feta cheese.

To each their own.

Then for my entree I chose the grilled mahi mahi.

The fish was seasoned and cooked nicely.

It was served with a flavorful broth, asparagus, fingerling potatoes, roasted tomatoes and artichoke hearts.

My Uncle got the rigatoni, which was awesome!

It was in a cheesy, cream sauce with butternut squash, pumpkin seeds and fried sage leaves.

I LOVE fried sage.

Then my Aunt got the Ahi tuna.

A huge piece of tuna glazed with miso and served with a papaya and daikon slaw and a crispy “chopstick”.

The tuna was tasty for sure.

I think we all left pretty satisfied and full.

And then we sailed into the sunset back home…

I have off for the rest of the week!!!

I have a lot of stuff to do though before I go to Texas on Monday!

Hoping to squeeze in some fun stuff in between.

Maybe I’ll hit up the food truck rally on Thursday!!

Anyone want to come with??

Off to finish watching Forest Gump. Hands down one of my favorite movies.  I can quote this movie seamlessly.

Yes, I know that’s borderline pathetic.

Goodnight!

Vanessa 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2011 10:30 pm

    Love, love, love fried sage! I make a butternut squash risotto (quinoa & arborio) from one of my favorite vegeterian cookbooks and top it off with them. So delicious!

    Enjoy your time off! Can’t wait for my vacation coming up in a few weeks, I sure need it 😉

    • June 1, 2011 12:10 am

      Mmh, sounds delish! Thanks I will try too, still have so much stuff to do at the homefront!! Hope you enjoy your vaca too!! Do something fun for yourself 🙂

Leave a Reply

