Skip to content

Gone Antiquing!

June 1, 2011

I started today by heading over to Atherton Mill Market to see what they had.

I picked up a tasty iced coffee while I looked around.

There’s no sense in buying any produce since I go to Texas on Monday, so I just came out with a loaf of bread.

Rustic Potato Bread from Round Table Creations.

I ran a few errands, came home and had lunch and then I felt really spontaneous all of a sudden.

So I changed my priorities around a bit and decided to do something I’ve been meaning to do for a while.

Go antiquing!

I’ve heard of two decent places around Charlotte, so I decided to check those out.

First I went to Fifteen Ten Antiques on Central Ave.

This place was chock full of stuff.  You kind of have to rummage through everything, but that’s the whole experience!

I came out with two ceramic bowls.

I like how their details match and they nest together perfectly.

Here’s a closer look at the detailing.

It’s got that rustic feel to it that I like.

Everything in the store was half off so I got two bowls for the price of one! Score!

I also picked up an old egg beater there.

I toyed around with buying this but wasn’t sure if I really needed to get it.

So then I consulted Twitter and asked if I should get it.

Everyone, hands down said yes.

Welp, that’s all I needed.

Now let’s hope I use it as a prop for some photography!

After that I headed up to South blvd. to the Sleepy Poet Antique Mall.

On the way there, I tweeted with another Charlotte local and photographer, Lindsay.  She’s one of the ones I’ve heard great things about this antique mall from.

It was good to meet with her and have someone to go antiquing with.  Although a lot of things we liked were out of our price range.

This place was huge!!  I seriously lost track of where I was a few times.

I did come out with a few awesome buys though!

I got this small, rustic looking table.

   

I thought it would be a perfect little table for some food photographs.

It’s folds up too so it’s easy for me to store.

Then I found this wooden, square bowl that I just loved.

I guess I was in a rustic state of mind today, eh?

I thought it paired well with the table and can see myself getting a lot of use of it.

I looked through stacks and stacks of vintage looking plates at this place.

I came out with one.

I really loved the color scheme and flowers on this.

Kind of reminds me of something Anthropologie would have, just half the price. 🙂

Oh, and of course I bought an old mason jar.

What’s one more, right?

Just say right.

Last but not least, I found the cutest teacups and saucers.

   

I don’t really drink tea in fancy cups like this, but maybe I should start.

They were only $2 for a set [cup and saucer together]!!

I thought they were just lovely to photograph too.

So that’s my loot.

I was kind of glad that I got all of that for under $70.

I really want to get better at styling my photographs. Sometimes I feel I just have too much empty space.

Practice makes perfect I suppose.

Time to do some laundry and start getting stuff together.

I think dinner will consist of bread and cheese, and maybe some corn on the cob.

Hey, it’s summer.  Don’t judge me.

Have a good night!

Vanessa 🙂

P.S.  Don’t forget tomorrow’s the food truck rally in Charlotte!! Let me know if you’re going!  Looking forward to some good eats.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2011 11:34 pm

    Beautiful finds! I love the plates.

Trackbacks

  1. Lemon Curd and Mixed Berry Semifreddo. « Life Undeveloped.

Leave a Reply

