Skip to content

Egg Celebration

June 3, 2011

Today is National Egg Day!

So of course I had to celebrate it.  Didn’t you?

I thought I’d share with you guys one of my all time favorite egg sandwiches.

It’s only four ingredients!

First I toasted up some bread.

I personally like a good crusty bread for this sandwich.

Then I fry up an egg or two.

I was extra hungry today, so I made two 🙂

I season it with just a little salt and pepper.

While the egg is cooking I heat up some of my favorite tomato sauce.

I just use whatever I have on hand, even though homemade is best.

Conveniently I had an open jar or sauce in my fridge!

I put the fried eggs on one side of the toasted bread.

Then I smother it with tomato sauce.

And sprinkle some of my favorite cheese on top.

Seriously, any cheese will do.

I just used some grated parmesan cheese that I had.

Then just top with the other half of the bread and enjoy!

This sandwich is super messy because of the runny egg yolks, but I don’t care.

Sometimes if I don’t feel like messing with it I just eat it open face style.

There’s plenty of variations and substitutions that can be done with this sandwich!

Get creative, celebrate National Egg Day and try a sandwich!

In other news, the garden just keeps on growing!!

Today as I was watering them, look what I found!!!

   

The start of some baby tomatoes!!

Ahh, I got way to excited over those little guys.  More than I should probably admit.

Oh and one other surprise!

My mint is starting to grow back, after its brief stint of death.

Or at least I thought it was dead.

Yay!!

Hope you guys have a great day!  Enjoy the fabulous weather!

Vanessa

P.S. Today is also National Donut Day!  Word on the street is if you stop by a Krispy Kreme or Dunkin Donuts today, you can get a free donut!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Diane permalink
    June 4, 2011 12:45 pm

    Yeah!! A baby tomato, that’s great. Happy to hear the mint has resurrected itself…had a feeling it would, it’s pretty hard to kill.

    I’m off to celebrate national egg day!

    • June 5, 2011 2:19 pm

      So excited about the tomatoes! I hope they don’t die while I’m in Texas. I’m overjoyed with the mint too!!

  2. June 15, 2011 10:38 pm

    Your herbs are a little “leggy” as rosamie would say.. you need to pick them and trim them back so they grow in fuller.. or so I’m told

Leave a Reply

