Skip to content

Deep in the Heart of Texas

June 13, 2011

Hey guys!!

So my last post was June 5th.  It’s now June 13th.

Sometimes real life gets in the way of my blogging schedule.  I hope you all are still with me though!!

As I explained in my last post, I’ve been in Texas for work for the past week.

It was hot.  I worked long days.

But I did manage to take some pictures on my IPhone.

I went to work the Indy car race at Texas Motor Speedway.

Also known as “The Great American Speedway”.

There were four of us taking care of a couple VIP suites at the speedway.

In addition to cooking the food and organizing everything, we also have to set up the tables the food goes on.

  

This one was one of the nicer suites.

Complete with columns and stone walls.  No big deal.

We got some gorgeous heirloom tomatoes in.

 I love all of the different shapes, sizes and colors that they come in.

We also smoked some delicious pork belly.

We did a carved “BLT” station in one of the suites.

Complete with pork belly, tomatoes, lettuce, sun dried tomato aioli and grilled flatbreads. Yum!

I also made a “throw together” panzanella salad.

Toasted foccacia bread, mozzarella, olives, basil, red wine vinaigrette, heirloom tomatoes, asparagus.

It was pretty tasty for being thrown together.

The trip wasn’t all work though!

A few of us took our rent a car and went to a Texas Rangers game!

They were crummy seats, but it was all about just being there.

On the way we stopped to take a look at the majestic Cowboys Stadium.

This thing in like a spaceship.

Wish we could have went inside.

Saturday was the race day,  I went in at 8am and didn’t leave until 12:30am.

Yep. I was tired.

I can’t believe I just showed the world that picture.  Don’t judge!

I got back yesterday afternoon and went to pick up some take out before returning back to my apartment.

I don’t do that often, but let’s face it, I wasn’t cooking yesterday.

I have one bare fridge.

Today I’ve been such a bum.

I slept in.  Drank lots of coffee.  Ate more takeout.

Oh and did lots of laundry.

In other news, my plants are still kicking!!

Hello delicious mint!  Thanks coming back to life.

The vegetable plants are still growing.

The tomatoes are growing!

I can’t wait until they turn ripe and red!

A pepper is starting grow!!

So excited!

I’m looking forward to getting back into the swing of things this week.

Friday Helene of Tartlette is having a book signing here in Charlotte!  I’ve read her book and it’s amazing!  Can’t wait to meet her!

I also realized today that my birthday is exactly ten days away.

 Not sure what the plans are yet, if any.

Well time to fold some laundry!

Glad to be back blogging 🙂

Vanessa

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2011 6:08 pm

    Welcome home!! Looks like you had a great time!

  2. June 14, 2011 10:01 am

    Pretty cool that you worked Texas Motor Speedway…I used to be a NASCAR fan and that’s a nice track. Things are definitely bigger in Texas!

    • June 14, 2011 10:33 am

      I still can’t get onboard with being a Nascar fan, but working the races is definitely an experience! The track is huge! So much walking!

  3. June 17, 2011 11:29 am

    I’ve been reading over your blog and just love it. It wasn’t until I read this post that I realize how much we have in common – I love baseball and I’m babying my own little herb plants this summer, too. I’m glad you found my blog so I could find yours!

    • June 17, 2011 11:47 am

      Aw I’m SO glad you like it!! Yay for having things in common!! Thanks so much for the comment Nicole 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Kentucky Recap « Life Undeveloped.

Leave a Reply

