Skip to content

Satisfaction

June 15, 2011

I spent the majority of this morning brainstorming what I wanted to make today for dinner.

I’m still in the same mindset as yesterday, so I was determined to make something that would bring me instant satisfaction.

I was inspired by what I had on hand.

Russet potatoes, fresh thyme and a sweet white onion to name a few.

Then I remembered I had bookmarked a recipe for a potato, onion and cheese tart ages ago.   I searched furiously for the recipe, looked it over and decided to use it as my inspiration.  Check out the original recipe here.

I started by preparing the tart crust first.

I’ll be the first to say that making dough is not my strong suite, but somehow I keep coming back for more.

So for this tart I decided to stay true to the recipe for the tart dough.

I pulsed some walnuts in a food processor until finely chopped.

   

I then added the chopped walnuts to a bowl along with the other dry ingredients.

Whole wheat pastry flour, A.P. flour, fresh thyme, salt and black pepper.

I gave the ingredients a stir just to combine them.

Then I made a well in the center of the dry ingredients.

Once the well was made I added the wet ingredients.

   

Ice cold water and olive oil.

Then I gradually mixed the wet into the dry ingredients.

   

Once the dough came together, I formed it into a disc, wrapped it up in plastic and popped it into the fridge.

While the dough was chilling I prepped the filling.

First by slicing two potatoes.

   

I could have used a mandolin, but I wanted to practice my knife skills.

Once sliced, I seasoned them with olive oil, salt and black pepper.

I laid them out on a sheet pan and they were ready for the oven!

I also sliced a sweet, white onion and seasoned it with olive oil, salt and back pepper.  I had some baby heirlooms on hand too so I seasoned them the same way and added some fresh herbs to the mix.

   

In the oven went the potatoes, onions and tomatoes for about 10 minutes at 425 degrees F.

I pulled them out and let them cool.  I also turned down the oven to 375 degrees F.

While the vegetables were cooling, I got to rolling out the dough.

Note: Yes I need a a new rolling pin. 🙂

I rolled it out to a less than perfect,”rustic” looking circle.  Then I transferred it to a silpat lined sheet pan.

Next I added a cheese mix to the middle of the dough.

I used whatever I had on hand, Parmesan and Manchego.

FYI.  Manchego is one of my top five favorite cheeses.

Then I layered the potatoes on top of the cheese and sprinkled the onions and tomatoes over top the potatoes.

Lastly, I folded over the edges to create a finished tart/galette look.

I brushed the crust with an egg wash [egg + water] and threw it in to the oven for about 50 or so minutes.

Out came this beauty.

While I was waiting for the tart to finish, I thought to myself, “If this tart doesn’t turn out, I quit.”

Well I guess it was a good thing it turned out.

Let me just tell you how good the caramelized vegetable filling was.

I also forgot how much I love roasted tomatoes.  So good.

I may have had an extra slice or two…

I also seriously underestimated how filling this tart is.

After cutting myself off, I decided that a nice, sweet balsamic reduction would be amazing drizzled over top.

I might have to remember that for leftovers.  Just saying.

I’m also trying to get better at styling and photography, but I feel like I have such a long way to go.   I am always lusting after other bloggers/photographers pictures online.  I guess practice makes perfect.

Well I’m off to finish cleaning up!  I think I’m going lakeside tomorrow!

Catch ya guys later.

Vanessa 🙂

P.S.  This was my 200th post!!!!  Who knew this blog would last this far!  I had my doubts, but I’m so glad I’ve stuck with it.  I hope you are too.   It’s also my Dad’s birthday!  Happy birthday Dad!!!  [Even though I already told you 🙂 ]

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2011 8:47 pm

    Your photos look great! 🙂 Congrats on your blog post #–that is a LOT and takes a lot of time and effort. The tart looks superb! I might have to make a variation with whatever I have on hand one of these days 🙂 Thanks for the inspiration

    • June 15, 2011 9:30 pm

      Thanks Laura!! And you are SO welcome!! You could do a million different things with this tart! Hope you try it!

  2. June 15, 2011 10:31 pm

    I’m loving the lighting and the rusticness of the new pics! Plus tell schmitty I said happy bday!

  3. June 16, 2011 2:13 pm

    That looks DELICIOUS! We’ve been experimenting with making our own pizzas and quiches…this looks right up my alley.

  4. June 17, 2011 8:27 am

    Potatoes, onions, and tomatoes in a pizza…what more does one need? This looks deliciously rustic and it’s literally making my stomach growl. 😀

Leave a Reply

