Skip to content

A Book Signing and Favorite Salad

June 17, 2011

Today was going to be a great day from the start.

Why you ask?

Well, because it was the day to meet the lovely and talented Helene Dujardin, author of Tartlette blog and Plate to Pixel!!

The signing was organized by Taylor and held at Amelie’s in NoDa.

As soon as I got there I need a coffee fix.  Cue iced coffee. Mmh.

   

I’m a huge fan of the decor of Amelie’s.  So unique.

There were a few familiar faces in attendance, like Julie!

Brooke was there too but I forgot to take a picture!  Eek. My bad 🙂

There was even someone who drove all the way from Raleigh for the book signing.

It was her first time in Charlotte so we gave her a few “must see” suggestions.

Helene was so genuine and sweet in person.

We laughed because she thought I would be so much taller in person than I was, thanks to my Twitter gravatar.

I blamed it on my chef uniform haha.

I think it’s so neat how she started as a pastry chef in a small restaurant in France.  It was nice to have some common ground to go off of.

It was pretty inspiring to hear how she got into and progressed in photography.

I’m also officially awkward in pictures, which is why I like to be primarily behind the lens!!!

Thanks to Julie for snapping the pictures of Helene and me!

It was a very intimate sort of feeling at the signing which I rather enjoyed.  We just sat around talking about anything.

Before we knew it, it was time to head on out!

When I got home I really wanted a huge salad.  I opened my fridge to find that my bag of spring mix had turned for the worst.

Cue Trader Joe’s.  I picked up some spinach and hurried back home.

I was craving one of my all time favorite salad combinations.

Strawberries, blueberries and pecans!

To candy the pecans all I did was melt some butter in a pan and add brown sugar.

Then in went the nuts.

I just stir it all together until it gets toasty.

I know this isn’t the healthiest, but trust me it’s delicious!

Sometimes if I’m feeling spicy I’ll add some cayenne or chili powder to the candied nuts.

So in a mixing bowl went the spinach, strawberries [which I hulled and quartered], blueberries, candied pecans, salt and pepper.

Then I poured on the dressing.

I used a white balsamic vinaigrette that I had already made in the fridge.

I gave it a toss, quality checked it and into a serving bowl it went.

I topped it with more berries, nuts and some goat cheese!

I absolutely demolished this salad.

Just what I was craving.

I’m off to have a lazy Friday night at mi casa.  I’ll need my rest for some farmer’s market shopping in the AM.

Have a good night 🙂

Vanessa

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2011 9:15 pm

    Goat cheeeeeese! The goat cheese I had on the salad at Amelie’s absolutely made it. I’m craving more 🙂

  2. June 17, 2011 11:35 pm

    That salad sounds and looks crazy good Vanessa! Must make it when I get home. I have a feeling it goes down as easy as the salted butter caramel brownies at Amelies 🙂

    • June 18, 2011 12:24 am

      Thanks Helene! It may go down just as easy, but at least it’s better for my waistline! Or so I keep telling myself 🙂

Leave a Reply

