Skip to content

How Old Are You Now

June 24, 2011

I’ve never been one to want a whole lot of attention.

So when I woke up today, I immediately didn’t publicize that it was my birthday.

Then I logged onto Facebook and Twitter and saw tons of comments and messages from people I’ve met throughout my 24 years of life, wishing me a happy birthday.  It’s kind of overwhelming, but so, so amazing.

If I didn’t tell you already THANK YOU all for your amazing comments and well wishes.  I appreciate it so much!

All in all, today just felt like another day.

I slept in a little, drank coffee at my leisure, swung by the mall to pick up some things and got ready for my dinner plans!

I picked to go to Terra Restaurant here in Charlotte as my birthday meal.

I drive by this place all the time, but never dined there.

It’s a small bistro size restaurant that specializes in French cuisine.

I loved the somewhat intimate vibe of this place.

True to form, everything literally was jumping out at me from the menu.

To start, the chef sent out an amuse bouche to set the tone of the meal.

It was a simple tomato and gorgonzola salad on a seasoned, crispy crostini.

This was super simple, but deliciously refreshing.

Then they brought some crusty bread to the table.

The bread was paired with an olive oil and balsamic vinegar mixture for dipping.

We decided to chose two appetizers to share.

First up was my pick,

Duo de Canard “Traiteur”

Duck pâte and smoked duck breast, served with chili infused honey and toasted baguette.

I loved this.

The pate was super creamy and flavorful and the duck breast was smoky and delicious.

Our other appetizer was a first for me.

Ris de Veau “Provencale”

Sautéed sweet breads, finished with a truffle, tomato, capers reduction.

Yes I tried sweetbreads.  Yes I enjoyed them.

I love the tomato caper reduction it was paired with.

For the salad course we all chose the same one.

Terra Caesar 

Grilled romaine salad, served with parmesan cheese and finished with a Caesar vinaigrette.

I love grilled lettuce salads.

I tried to do one at my job this past season, but it didn’t go over as well as I thought it would.  Let’s face it, this style salad is best suited for an ala carte restaurant, not the chef’s tables at my job.  Oh well, you live, you learn.

Terra’s salad was delicious!

Entree time!

My Uncle, being the gnocchi connesoir that he is, chose the gnocchi.

La Saucisse aux Gnocchis de Sauge

Homemade gnocchi sautéed with sausage, tomato and sage, finished with a cream sauce.

He loved them!

They were very different then the tradition potato gnocchi we were used to.  The sausage was delicious too!

I chose something I don’t get all the time, veal.

Veal Saltimbocca 

Veal scallopini topped with prosciutto, sage, sundried tomatoes and mozzarella, finished with veal glace.

   

It was delicious!  The mozzarella cheese on this was fantastic!  Loved the sauce too.

My Aunt got the fish of the day.

Pan roasted Escolar served over an oyster mushroom ragout and potato croquette and topped with a beurre rogue.

The fish was dense and delicious.  None of us had ever had this fish before!

It was described to us as a “white tuna”.

The entrees were served with some homemade mashed potatoes flavored with scallions and mascarpone cheese.  They were creamy and delicious!

The other side was some collard greens!

The table was then cleared and we ordered some coffee and a dessert to split!

We chose the strawberry tart.

All of Terra’s desserts are made in house, which I love.

The pastry was very good on the tart and the filling was creamy and tasty.  You can’t go wrong with some fresh whipped cream on top either!

Not a bad birthday meal if I do say so myself.

I can’t wait to come back to sample what else this French restaurant has to offer!

Sorry this post went up so late!! I got distracted by a late birthday visitor!! 🙂

Back to work tomorrow! Ugh.

Goodnight readers 🙂

Vanessa

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2011 1:22 am

    Happy Belated birthday!!! Glad it was a great one! the food looks incredible!

    You should celebrate every second of a birthday because it’s all about you!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

