Skip to content

Squash Blossoms

June 26, 2011

Remember the squash blossoms I scored at the farmer’s market yesterday?

Well I had big plans for them.

They were going to get stuffed and fried.

Oh yes.

I started by preparing the filling.

It was inspired by the latest Bon Appetit magazine.

Ricotta cheese, lemon zest and juice, salt, pepper, basil.

That’s it.

Simple and delicious.

I set it aside and next made my batter.

I took a few pointers from the magazine on this too.

A beer batter lightened with egg whites.

I whipped a few egg whites [by hand!] until they developed stiff peaks.

In a separate bowl I combined flour, salt and the beer.

Then I gently folded in the egg whites into the beer batter.

Gently enough to make sure I didn’t kill the beer bubbles and airy egg whites.

I set the batter aside for a few minutes and moved onto stuffing the squash blossoms.

I spread apart the petals of the blossoms so that I could see the center.

Then I just spooned some of the filling into the center.

   

Making sure the petals are wrapped around the filling.

I just laid them out on a sheet pan until I was ready to fry them.

I heated up some oil in a deep pan.

Then it was time for dipping the blossoms in the batter like so.

You can dip the whole blossom, stem and all, but i just did the actual flower part.

Once battered, they went right into the hot oil.

   

I flipped them over once and took them out once golden brown on both sides.

I let them drain on some paper towels for a bit to soak up some of the grease.

Don’t they look good??

Time for quality control!

Nom, nom, nom.

They were so light, airy and crispy all at the same time.

The cheesy filling was delicious too.

They were gone in no time!

They served as appetizers for our dinner, simply because we couldn’t wait any longer.

Dinner was delicious too.

We made a risotto style rice using the chorizo and tomato broth that we saved from our seafood dinner the other day.

   

This was suprisgnly delicious!

The flavors definitely developed as they sat in the fridge.

The chorizo added a little extra kick too.

We also had some of the baguette I bought from the market yesterday.

Twas’ a delicious meal.

Back to work tomorrow.

Already?!

Sigh.

Looks like I’ll be having a case of the Mondays tomorrow for sure.

Until then.

Vanessa 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2011 10:49 pm

    Omg those zucchini flowers look amazinggg..lena just sent some more over.. might just have to stuff them this time!

    • June 27, 2011 11:17 pm

      They were SO good.. Tell Lena to FedEx me some lol. You need to stuff them with cheeeeseeee.

Leave a Reply

