Skip to content

All in a Dream

June 29, 2011

Last night I had a one of those weird dreams, where you don’t remember anything.

Well I didn’t remember anything except this dinner I had tonight.

Yes you heard it right, I dreamt up my dinner.

I think it was due to the fact that I’ve been brainstorming ways to use up all of my produce before I leave on my work trip on Sunday.

It started with the fresh peas I had picked up at the market last Saturday.

What to do, what to do.

Then it came to me.

Make a puree!

I didn’t have a lot of those peas, so I wanted to bulk it up with something else.

Here’s what I came up with.

Those are the ingredients I used in the puree, plus salt and pepper of course.

First I started by sautéing the garlic and onion in a pot with a little olive oil.

Once translucent, I added the carrots and peas to the pot.

I let the vegetables soften a little and then added some chicken stock to the pot.

I put the lid on and let it simmer for about 10 minutes or so until the vegetables were tender.

Then it all went into the VitaMix.

At this point I added the chopped thyme, lemon zest, cream, salt and pepper.

I blended it on high until it reached the consistency I wanted.

Smooth and creamy.

It looks more like a carrot puree, but I promise there’s peas hiding in there!

This tasted awesome!  Winning!

The lemon zest gave it a bright flavor!

So in addition to the puree I dreamt of making a fresh corn salsa.

Here’s the main ingredients I came up with.

Pretty basic, yeah?

I threw all the ingredients in a bowl and then added some other flavorings on a whim.

Lime zest, honey, olive oil, sriracha, salt and pepper.

I gave it a good mixing.

Taste test.

Approved.

I stuck the salsa in the fridge until I was ready to use it.

So the real question is, what are the corn salsa and pea and carrot puree going with?

What was going to bring it all together?

Seared scallops!

I adore a nicely seared scallop and it had been far too long since I’ve had one.

Tip:  When prepping scallops make sure you pat them dry with a towel!  They need to be dry to get a nice sear on them.  Oh and when searing them, make sure your pan is hot!  You simply cannot get a nice sear on them with a cold pan. Just saying.

I like to keep the scallops super simple as far as seasonings.  Salt and pepper is all it needs to me.

All I did was quickly sear them in a hot pan.  They literally take a couple minutes.

This is what dreams are made of.

I spread the puree on the bottom of the plate.

Then added a few scallops on top.

Lastly spooned some of the corn salsa over top the whole dish.

This was so good.

Why don’t I eat scallops more often?

Oh yeah, because I’m a struggling artist.

Yes, I’m calling myself an artist.

I have a career and majored in culinary “arts” 🙂

— Have you ever dreamt up something that turned out to be surprisingly awesome? —

Had a wonderful night out eating fro-yo with some Charlotte Food Bloggers.  Our meetings and field trips are always so much fun.  We spent a good hour and a half talking and eating fro-yo.  That’s what happens when foodies get together.

Well I’m off to get a few things done before bed.

Goodnight!

Vanessa 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2011 11:46 pm

    Oh man, too awesome for words!! Amazing!

Trackbacks

  1. Friday Things « Life Undeveloped.

Leave a Reply

