Skip to content

Saturday Happenings

July 2, 2011

I woke up bright and early on this lovely Saturday, summer morning.

I was a girl with an agenda for the day.

First up was a visit to Atherton Mill Market.

There were lots of kiddies out and about today.

Perfect for people watching!

I love how intimate this market feels and how you can get everything from produce to meats to fish to pickles!

So, so great!

I went straight for Monk’s Groovy Beans for an iced coffee.

They brewed a strong batch of coffee this morning and it tasted SO good.

There really is no need for milk or sugar in an iced coffee to me.

Mmh, perfection.

I had made plans to meet Julie at the market for some breakfast!

Cue Roots food truck.

“Good.Local.Food”

Julie hadn’t been here before so we walked around inside to see the market’s offerings.

Let me just tell you how it was seriously killing me not to be able to buy any produce.

Then we perused the Roots’ menu for the morning.

   

No questions asked, I was drawn right to the egg and heirloom tomato sandwich.

Can I start everyday off like this??

This sandwich really hit the spot. The runny egg yolk totally made it.

It was worth the mess for sure!

Julie got the burritos and said they were good.  I forgot to take a picture because I was too busy stuffing my face.

Woops.

We finished our breakfast, chatted, people watched and said our goodbyes.

I love breakfast dates at the market 🙂

From there I made my way up to the lake to see my Aunt and Uncle before I left on my trip.

My Aunt’s sister and mother are in town too, so it was a full house!

Fortunately we are all foodies, so put us all in a kitchen and we can go a little crazy.

My Aunt has an abundance of cucumbers growing in her garden, so we made pickles!

This time I made dill pickle spears.

Totally winged this recipe too.  Hope they turn out.

Bread and butter pickles were also made.

My Aunt’s sister really wanted to make fresh pasta so she threw together a quick batch.

Unfortunately somewhere alone the way when making the dough and cutting it, well it flopped.

Fresh pasta we did not have.

Thank God for dry pasta!

We threw together a quick salad of romaine, tomatoes, cucumbers, feta cheese, red onions and a homemade vinaigrette.

Why are salads so darn refreshing on these hot summer days?

The main dish was spaghetti with homemade sauce, meatballs and sausage.

My Aunt makes a pretty darn good sauce, so this was tasty and hit the spot!

After we finished chowing down, we cleaned up our mess.

Then I headed back home to finish up some last minute things for my trip.

Can I just say how I’m not looking forward to this trip?

Here’s hoping for a fast work week!

Lots of things to look forward to when I get back to Charlotte!  Can’t wait!

I have one guest post lined up for this week and hoping to squeeze another one in there if possible.

I’ll keep in touch as much as I can!

See you guys soon!

Vanessa 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 4, 2011 7:03 pm

    It looks like your aunt makes pretty good meatballs too!

  2. July 6, 2011 8:14 am

    oh. my. word. that farmer’s market food looks incredible!!!

Leave a Reply

