Skip to content

Kentucky Recap

July 12, 2011

Hey guys!

I just got back to Charlotte yesterday from my work trip to Kentucky.

 The past 24 hours have been filled with napping, laundry, unpacking, and lots of catching up on real life.

Or at least trying to.

I didn’t manage to take any food pictures of what we did in Kentucky, but I figured I’d give you guys a quick recap anyways.

For those of you who don’t know, I was in Kentucky to work the inaugural Nascar race at Kentucky Speedway.

The track itself was located in Sparta, KY which is a super small town.  Aside from the speedway, there isn’t much to it.

I was doing the VIP suites again, like I did in Texas.

True to form we made prep lists and hung our menus.

Organization is a beautiful thing. 🙂

The main kitchen was located outside underneath a tent, that’s where the majority of the production happened.

We also had a tiny makeshift dock for all of our product.

I actually got a gnarly bruise on my thigh from being hoisted on to the dock via two guys.

It was pretty funny at the time.

These were our grills.

They were fueled with propane and reached insanely hot temperatures.

Needless to say I was red faced and drenched with sweat when I had to use them.

Attractive right?

We didn’t go out much when we weren’t working.

On the fourth of July some of us wanted to see fireworks.

The hotel we were staying at was in Florence, Ky which was maybe a half hour outside downtown Cincinnati.

So on the fourth we ventured downtown.

There was a restaurant that was located right on the Ohio River, called Montgomery Inn.

Lucky for us it was all you can eat ribs night!

Complete with a bib.

Mine fell off in the middle of eating ribs and I had to get someone to tie it for me because my hands were soaked in bbq sauce.

That was another funny moment.

But I won’t get into that.

The ribs were accompanied by potato chips.

The ribs were good but had a bit too much sauce for my liking.

Luckily on my next order I was smart enough to ask for them dry.

Once we had our fair share of ribs, we walked down to the river and staked out a spot to watch the fireworks over the bridge.

I failed to take a picture of the fireworks worth showing.

They were a little boring to me, I’m used to intense firework shows on the beach in Jersey, but it was nice to see some at any rate.

The rest of the work week was a busy one.

I did manage to sneak a picture of this awesome apache copter and humvee that were at the track.

It’s so crazy to see these sorts of things in person.

They’re so big!

We took a small group shot in from of them, but it was on someone else’s camera.  I’ll have to get my hand on a copy.

We also managed to catch a few gorgeous sunsets while we were there too.

All in all it was fun.

Not necessarily the work part of it, that was hell.

But when surrounded by good people, trying to make the best out of a crummy situation, it’s not SO bad.

That’s my story and I’m sticking to it!  🙂

Now I’m going to continue readjusting to being home.  Or take a nap.

Vanessa 🙂

P.S.  A big HAPPY BIRTHDAY to Mary over at Fervent Foodie!!!!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2011 8:16 pm

    Yay!!! Happy birthday to me 😀

  2. July 13, 2011 12:09 pm

    You get to take some of the coolest trips!

    You’re gonna think this is weird, but I have literally wall-papered my dining room wall with what is, essentially, my bucket list. It’s sheet after sheet of printer paper, each with a different list: “Places I Hope to Visit,” “Things I Hope to Experience,” “Accomplishments I Hope to Achieve,” etc.

    From taking a road trip to exploring America’s rivers to losing myself in the streets of an unfamiliar town, soaking up the world five senses at a time is a common theme.

    For some reason (I blame the move Elizabethtown…), Kentucky always seemed like a fine place to take a road trip. Now your pictures have me itching to get in the car and drive.

    If I ever take off, I’ll be sure to give you a shout.

    • July 13, 2011 4:34 pm

      That’s not weird at all! I would love to just travel to different places and see different things and photograph it all. But I need money to be able to do that, or a sponsor haha. Everytime I watch that movie I want to road trip!! I like being able to travel to different places with work, but I wish I had more free time to just explore. If you ever find a way to travel with a tight budget let me know 🙂

      • July 15, 2011 9:59 am

        Haha! It’s a deal!

        Although, travel doesn’t HAVE to be expensive. The simple joy of hopping in a car and going where the road leads you is hard to beat.

Trackbacks

  1. Since I’ve Been Home « Life Undeveloped.

Leave a Reply

