Skip to content

The Perfect Summer Lunch

July 14, 2011

When you think of a perfect summer lunch, what do you think of?

It’s simple for me.

A BLT, fruity drink and bowl of cherries.

I didn’t have the “L” part of the BLT, so we’ll just ignore that.

All you need is good, thick bacon.

And some sliced juicy tomatoes.

Step one:  Toast your bread.

Step two:  Slather bread with mayonnaise. [Since I was missing lettuce, I made a pesto flavored mayo instead].

Step three:  Layer sliced tomatoes on top of mayonnaise slathered bread.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper.

Step four:  Lay bacon over top of the tomatoes.

Step five:  Top with the other slice of toasted bread.

Step six:  Mangia.

In addition to that sandwich, my perfect lunch includes a bowl of sweet cherries.

I pop these things like candy.

I love them.

Oh and to wash lunch down, all you need is a fruity drink!

Today I muddled some strawberries, mint, sugar and lemon juice together and poured sparkling water in it.

I let it sit for ten minutes and then strained it into an icy glass.

And that’s all she wrote.

That’s my perfect summer lunch.

Another perk to this lunch is the delicious fragrance of bacon floating through my apartment.

I’m not complaining. 🙂

Tell me:  What’s your favorite summer lunch?

Vanessa 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2011 10:44 pm

    i wonder if you roasted the tomato on a blt, how it would turn out?

  2. July 14, 2011 10:48 pm

    and then maybe put some syrup on the bacon before you cooked it, like a maple smoked bacon and roasted tomato with mescalin mix, blt? not that i like bacon or tomatoes, just saying i wonder how that flavor combo would be?

Leave a Reply

