Skip to content

Produce Overload.

July 19, 2011

Hey guys!

Today I made my way over to the lake to see my Aunt and Uncle.

It had been way too long since we last got together, so we were due!

My Aunt has SO much produce coming out of her garden right now, it’s nuts.

She had at least five eggplants that needed some love.

Even though I’m not a huge fan of eggplants, I helped her make some eggplant caponata!

First we peeled and cubed up all of the eggplants.

Then we also chopped up some red bell pepper and mushrooms.

  

We chopped up some white onion and garlic as well.

  

When the chopping was done, it was time for the cooking!

We heated up a pot with some olive oil in it and sauteed the onions and garlic until soft and translucent.

Then we added the rest of the chopped vegetables.

Mushrooms, bell pepper, eggplant all in the pot.

We gave it a stir and let it cook down for about ten minutes or so.

Then we added tomato paste, salt, herbs, red wine vinegar, olives, sugar and water to the pot.

We just mixed it all together and let it simmer down for a half hour or so.

We had to use two pots we had so much eggplant.

Lucky me scored some to take home.

I’m thinking this would be wonderful with some crusty bread and salty cheese.

Mmmhhmm.

Looks like I’m going to the market tomorrow.

After our caponata making, we cooked a wonderful summer dinner.

I don’t have a grill at my apartment and desperately miss it.  My George Foreman “lean mean grilling machine” doesn’t quite cut it sometimes.

So anytime I can get an authentic grilled meal, I’m satisfied.

Tonight we grilled zucchini and pork chops [which my Aunt brined].

  

Both were delicious!

Brining pork really does make a difference.

Since we were having pork chops, there was a request for some mashed taters.

Mmh, taters.

I was in charge of the salad for the evening.

I was having a hard time deciding what type of salad I wanted to make.  It was not due to the lack of ingredients.  Again, my Aunt has SO much produce!

Ultimately I decided to make a wedge salad.

It was just a simple wedge of iceberg lettuce with grape tomatoes, red onion, crumbled bacon, blue cheese, cucumbers and a fig balsamic dressing.

Twas’ delicious!

Now it’s time to watch some tv and have a cup of coffee and slowly make my journey back home.

Tomorrow is going to be a super busy day for me, but an exciting one! [I hope!].

Goodnight!

Vanessa 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

