Skip to content

In my Fridge

July 21, 2011

It’s Thursday today and it feels like Monday to me.

I didn’t sleep very well last night and I woke up early this morning, so that in itself should have told me today was going to be poopy.

Yes, I just said poopy.

I had work today at the arena and it was so weird.  I hadn’t worked there for weeks so I sort of felt like a fish out of water being back.

I was originally going to go to the food truck rally today, but it didn’t end up working out. 😦

Instead I decided to go home, succumb to this poopy day and veg out on the contents of my fridge.

Then it came to me…

Since I wasn’t having a very creative dinner.  Why don’t I show you guys exactly what I’m hoarding in my fridge.

So without further ado,  here’s what’s in my fridge right now.

[**Note: It’s unusually full right now from shopping yesterday.  It’s not normally this full. Really.**]

There’s an overview of my fridge.  It’s messy, I know.

Let’s take a closer look, shall we?

.Top shelf.

Left–Homemade pickles and herbs from the garden.  In the background is ground flax [ground fresh by me] and leftover buttercream.

  

Right–Chocolate stash. Lots of chocolate bars for eating and baking.  Not pictured, there’s chocolate chips behind the bars.

Note: Those chocolate bars from Trader Joe’s are SO flippin’ good.  I can’t stop buying them.  It’s so wrong, but so right at the same time.

Also on the top shelf are some of my flavored drinks.

Assorted flavored IZZE, Yuengling [best beer ever!], Coconut water [for when I’m needing serious hydration], Orange juice and strawberry infused vodka [which is amazing by the way].

.Second Shelf.

Yogurt, strawberries and blueberries.

White bean hummus [from TJ’s], leftover cous cous [What to do with it?!], eggplant caponata.

Underneath the second shelf is the dairy drawer.

I usually mix up the cheeses I buy.

Right now there’s, Manchego [Mmh], Colby/Swiss slices [New buy from TJ’s], Parmigiano Reggiano [A staple], tempeh [Quick sorce of fiber], feta cheese [My fav.], goat cheese [Another staple] and miso paste [Impulse buy].

.Bottom Shelf.

Left— Open chicken stock, kalamata olives, tahini, soy sauce, bacon and tomatoes [some store bought and some from the garden].

  

Right— Water stash [sparkling and bottled], iced tea and leftovers from last night’s dinner [Thanks Campania Cafe :-)].

.Produce Drawers.

Left— Kale [New buy from TJ’s. Perfect for kale chips?], lettuce mix [for salads], red bell pepper, Russet potato [always good to have on hand], a cucumber, carrots, lemons and limes [for frescas!!].

  

Right–Sweet potatoes [because they are delish], green onions, lots of corn [because it’s summer, duh], zucchini and yellow squash.

.Fridge door.

Middle shelf— Miscellaneous open condiments.  For example:  ketchup, mustard, horseradish, hot sauce, sweet chili, sriracha, worcestershire, etc.

Bottom shelf—  Whole flax seeds, red wine [for cooking], Sunbutter [TJ’s variety is amazing], open jams and jellies, syrup, grenadine and lime juice [for drinks and cocktails].

Top shelf-– Half + half [for coffee], heavy cream [leftover from a recipe], vanilla flavored almond milk, egg whites, unsalted butter and farmer’s market eggs.

That concludes the refrigerator portion.

Now let’s sneak a peek at the freezer.

Brace yourself. 

This is my freezer messy…

There’s a variety of frozen veggies [pepper strips, corn, peas, etc], soup, ice cream, frozen fruit [for bananas], old school ice cube trays [Oh yeahh], lots of bread, pepperoni, chicken breast, shrimp, chorizo [from Grateful Growers], hot dogs and leftover treats.

There’s probably more little stuff in there, but those are the main items.

I use the freezer door as my main nut storage.

There’s almonds, hazlenuts, pistachios, walnuts, pecans, baking soda and powder.

Oh and I think that tupperware container is tomato paste.

So that is a look inside of my refrigerator and freezer.

Did I scare you?  Are you still reading?  Am I rambling? 

Oh I should probably add the few produce items that are not being stored in my fridge.

Avocados [Can’t wait for them to ripen!], red onion, sweet onion, shallots and garlic.

Ok, now I’m done.

 So what’s in your fridge?  

Is it as crazy as mine?  

Maybe you shouldn’t answer that question…

At any rate, I’ve got a few things to finish up tonight, including editing some photos for a fun side project!

I’ll tell the details as soon as it’s finished and live. 🙂

I’m also deciding between a couple styles of business card designs that I discovered on Etsy.

These are the times when I absolutely hate being indecisive.

Sigh…

Alright I’m really done now.

See you tomorrow!

Vanessa 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2011 9:35 pm

    Can you share your pickle recipe please?

    My fridge is SO unexciting right now. Maybe I’ll go take pictures just for fun and do a post about it!! Good idea!

    • July 22, 2011 9:43 pm

      You should totally go take pictures of your fridge! 🙂 It’s not much of a recipe. More like ingredients thrown in a pot. But I’ll put it on the list for future posts!

  2. July 22, 2011 9:55 pm

    OK so many things to talk about here. First, I never heard of putting potatoes in the fridge. Is that a southern thing? Second, I love that you have your syrup in a for real diner style container. Third, can you please come organize my fridge?

    • July 22, 2011 10:12 pm

      Haha is that what an organized fridge looks like? I thought mine was messy, but that’s just me. I really don’t know why I put my potatoes in the fridge, I think it’s just a “me” thing. I’m sorry I don’t have a better answer for you. And the fact that you noticed my syrup container made me smile 🙂 It’s one of my favorite things.

Leave a Reply

