Skip to content

Tour of my Bookshelf.

July 24, 2011

When I was younger, I loved to read.

I was that kid who wanted every book at book fairs.

True story.

I had the entire Nancy Drew collection as well as a good portion of that Goosebumps series [Anyone else remember these?].

In fact, I’m pretty sure I still have most of my favorite childhood books back at home in New Jersey.

I also dreamt about having one of those old fashioned studies.  You know, the ones with bookcases as walls with a giant ladder that swung around the room.

The point of this story?

Well when I moved into to Charlotte, I had a hard time leaving most of my books in Jersey.

I had to make some tough cuts and only bring the essentials.  I mean I was moving into a one bedroom apartment not a mansion after all.

So my dreams of swinging from a ladder in my old fashioned study were diminished to this $10 bookshelf from Target.

Womp, womp, womp…

Well a girl can still dream.

I decided that since I made food my career I should bring the bulk of my cookbook collection to Charlotte with me.  So I did.

Plus a few extra books just for good measure.

So I thought I would take you guys on a little tour of my “study” aka bookshelf.

Bottom Shelf.

• CIA: The Professional Chef [Essential to any culinarian.]

•  CIA: Garde Manger [Another essential.]

• JWU: Culinary Fundamentals [My college textbook.]

• Two Cooking Light cookbooks [Bought pre-culinary school when I started to really cook for myself.]

• The Essential Mediterranean Cookbook [One of my favorite cuisines!]

• Food Network cookbooks: Giada’s Family Dinners, How to Boil Water, Food Network Kitchens cookbook and Dave’s Dinner. [More pre-culinary school buys.]

• Solo Suppers [I think I bought this when I was in a major cooking slump somewhere for cheap.]

• The Essential Bartender’s Guide [Essential, duh.]

• The Big Book of Breakfast [Who doesn’t love breakfast?]

• Stack of old magazines [that need to be tossed]

Middle Shelf.

• Food Network Favorites Book [Not sure where this came from.]

• Cookie Swap book and a Christmas cookbook [Both Christmas gifts.]

• Finger food [Bargain book]

• Carolina Cooking [Trying to get a better idea of southern cooking.]

• Two Tyler Florence cookbooks [I went through a phase, plus he’s pretty dreamy, let’s face it.]

• A bunch of Food & Wine annual cookbooks [My Grandpa sends me them.]

• Two Bobby Flay cookbooks [One signed by him.]

• Food Lover’s Companion [A bookshelf staple.]

• Kitchen confidential [Anthony Bourdain.  A cook’s essential read.]

• National Geographic’s The Ultimate Field Guide to Photography [For guidance of course.]

• Cheesy, romantic, chick books by Sophie Kinsella, Emily Griffin, etc. [Don’t judge!]

•A few Chuck Palahniuk books [ex. Fight Club]

• A Few Stephen King stories.

Top Shelf.

• Classic poetry collection [Bargain at Borders. Everyone needs a little poetry every now and then.]

• Intuitive Eating and Superfoods Healthstyle [Research for healthy eating suggestions. Good resources.]

• Spellbound [An Alfred Hitchcock book. Love his movies.]

• Chick books by Harriet Evans.

• Ode to Heidi: Super Natural Everyday and Super Natural Cooking [Genius, healthy cookbooks.]

• Plate to Pixel [by the lovely Helene Dujardin. Food photographer’s essential!]

• Small Bites [Cutest cookbook featuring small, tapas style dishes. I use it as inspiration.]

• Chez Panisse Vegetables [Alice Waters and her simple approach to vegetables. Love it. I want to go to Chez Panisse, like really bad.]

• The Essential New York Times Cookbook [Christmas gift filled with amazing recipes!]

• Daniel Boulud: Letter to a Young Chef [More inspiration].

• Hot Shots [Photography tips and tricks]

————-

So that concludes your tour.  I hope you enjoyed it.  Assuming you didn’t get bored and leave after seeing cheesy, chick books.

I’m going to need a bigger bookshelf soon. This thing is stuffed!

Off to fold some laundry! See ya!

Question for you: What’s on your bookshelf?

Vanessa 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2011 5:08 pm

    what a fun load of books…looks like I need to start adding to my own library, as I’m missing several of the “essentials”! (can’t wait to see if our library carries them…thanks for the recommends.)

    • August 2, 2011 5:19 pm

      They are essentials in my book 🙂 Your welcome! I hope you are able to find them!! Perfect time of year to read too!

Leave a Reply

