Skip to content

Not Your Average Pasta

July 27, 2011

Today might as well have been Monday.

I’m totally serious.

I woke up late because my alarm failed to go off, therefore I was late to work.

I was a mess at work.  Dropping things.  Having serious “brainfarts”.

I come home to see my produce delivery that I failed to cancel waiting for me on my doorstep.

Now on top of the food I already had I can add a butternut squash, more potatoes, a honeydew melon, two more onions and a loaf of Great Harvest cinnamon chip bread.  Oh and now I have two delivery boxes taking up precious storage space.

Ugh, FAIL! [Even though I secretly was excited about the bread].

I originally wanted to go grab some sushi for dinner, but with my impromptu produce delivery and my mood, I was certainly not going out.  Plus I was scared what I might do at the rate I was going.

So instead I stayed home and stared aimlessly into my dim-lit refrigerator, completely stumped for dinner.

I think I was more overwhelmed with all of the options I had.

I decided to conquer some of the older produce I had in my vegetable drawers.

Yellow squash, zucchini and corn.

Thus squash ribbon pasta with corn was born.

Here’s what it consisted of:

Olive oil, salt and pepper were involved too obviously.

I washed the squash off first and then proceeded to use a conventional hand peeler to peel the squash into ribbons.

Like so…

  

I used one zucchini and one yellow squash total.

I love how whimsical the squash ribbons look.

Not gona lie, brightened my day a bit.

In a nonstick skillet I heated up some olive oil and then added one clove of garlic [minced] and one small shallot [sliced].

Once softened, I added raw corn kernels [from one cob] to the pan.

I stirred it around for a minute or two until warmed through.

Then I added the squash ribbons and the pesto.

It’s kind of tricky to stir with the ribbons at first, but once it cooks and softens a little bit, it’s a lot easier.

Once the pesto was evenly distributed and the squash was cooked a little I added the last little bit of ingredients.

Lemon zest, walnuts [coarsely chopped] and herbs [thyme + rosemary]

I just gave it a quick toss, seasoned with salt and pepper and then plated it up!

Once in the bowl, I grated some fresh parmigiano reggiano and manchego cheese over top.

That’s it!

So simple guys.

This was one of those dinners where I actually said to myself [out loud], “Who knew vegetables could be so delicious?!”

  

Another perfect Summer themed meal in the Smith household.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to chow down on some cinnamon chip bread.

Night’!

Vanessa 🙂

P.S.  Tomorrow is the American Idol concert at the arena and the restaurant I usually work in is open.  So if you’re coming to the show, come dine at Frontcourt restaurant on Founder’s level at the arena!!  Anyways, it’ll be a later night, probably won’t get out until sometime between 9-10.  So there may or may not be a post tomorrow, depending on that.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2011 3:10 pm

    This looks wonderful! I’ve been thinking of trying some squash ribbons in something, but this dish blew any half-formed ideas I had out of the water. I want to try this!

  2. July 30, 2011 12:47 pm

    oh this looks marvelous just marvelous

Leave a Reply

