Skip to content

Lemon Curd and Mixed Berry Semifreddo.

August 4, 2011

Yesterday I talked about firsts and I told you I would show you another first of mine today.

Lucky for you guys, I’m a girl of my word.

Yesterday I made my first….

Semifreddo!

It’s SO delicious!

Lemon curd and berries. Yum.

I used this recipe as a guideline since I never made it before.

I took a ton of pictures to show you guys the entire process.

So let’s get started!

For my mixed berries, I used blackberries and blueberries.

If you like raspberries, they would also be good in here, but I’m not a fan of them.

I put them in a bowl and mashed them up with a potato masher.

A potentially messy job, but a fun one.

I set the mashed berries aside for later.

Next I whipped up some heavy cream until it formed peaks.

  

It really is amazing to me how you can take cream and whip air into it to create something so light and fluffy.

Seriously who was the person who thought to do that?

In a separate bowl I poured in some lemon curd that I already had on hand.

Even if you don’t have any on hand, it’s SO easy to make..

Lemon zest + juice, egg yolks, sugar and butter.

Do it.

I then folded the whipped cream into the lemon curd ever so gently.

  

Until it was fully incorporated, and looked like this.

I set that bowl aside.

Then it was time to whip the egg whites!

I busted out the big guns for this task.

I bought this old egg beater when I went antiquing a while back.

I’ve been wanting to mess around with it, so I did.

Woo hoo! Success!

It was kind of fun.

I should of put on a string of pearls and a dress.  You know just like they did in the olden days.

I took the whipped egg whites and gently folded them into the whipped cream and lemon curd mixture.

  

You still with me?

We’re getting there, I promise!!

I then took about three quarters of the mashed berries and folded them into the lemon mix.

  

I only mixed it just to get a marbled affect of sorts.

Last preparation step!

I lined a loaf pan [whatever size you have. Mine was kind of large] with plastic wrap.

I poured the berry and lemon mixture into the lined loaf pan.

  

I spread it out evenly with a rubber spatula and then covered it fully with plastic wrap and stuck it in the freezer.

I let mine freeze overnight, but it will be frozen in a few hours.

I checked it early last night and it was frozen and I put it in the freezer around 2:00-3:00pm, just to give you an idea.

This morning I was giddy with excitement to see how it all turned out!

I inverted the pan on top of a cutting board and removed the wrap.

  

Then I cut it into slices.

I put the sliced semifreddo on a plate and topped it with more mashed berries, toasted coconut and coconut whipped cream.

For the coconut whipped cream, I scooped out the milky part out of a [chilled] can of coconut milk into a bowl, making sure to not have any of the watery part in the bowl

Then I just whipped it like you would regular cream.  I sweetened it a little powdered sugar.

It’s SO good.  I got the idea from Pinterest. 

It’s so refreshingly tart and sweet all at the same time.

  

I don’t have an ice cream maker, so this is the closet thing I’ve made to it.

   

  You guys really should try this.

Really.

Think of all the different flavor possibilities.

I am.

Oh an I might have had a piece of this for breakfast.

🙂

Vanessa

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2011 11:08 pm

    This looks delicious! I’ve never made a semifreddo either actually. I do have an ice cream maker though (or my parents do…so I was using theres). I made the most incredible chocolate ice cream EVER several weeks ago for a dinner get together. I’m still thinking about it…

    Great idea to use coconut milk for the whipped cream!

    • August 5, 2011 12:05 am

      Oh man. I love chocolate ice cream. As much as I want an ice cream maker, I think one of the reasons that I haven’t bought one yet is because I think I would be out of control!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

