Skip to content

Sunday Eats.

August 7, 2011

Typically on Sundays I like to be in the kitchen all day experimenting and creating new things.

However today was not one of those typical days.

I cleaned like a mad woman.

I ate cold pizza for breakfast.

I did laundry.

Then instead of coming up with something new, I turned to food that felt comforting to me.

An old, childhood favorite, crispy, baked chicken wings.

They’re really pretty simple.

Just make your own spice blend of your choice.

Honestly I’m not even sure if I remember exactly what I put in that mix.

Paprika was there.  So was garlic powder and salt.  The rest is a blur.

It should be noted that as I was gathering spices, I knocked over my black sesame seeds.

Let’s just say I’m still picking them up.

Damnit man.

So once the spice blend is done.  Then I just took my really awesome and favorite broiler pan and sprayed it with non stick spray [you can never be too careful].

I washed and patted dry some chicken wings and put them on the broiler pan.

I generously sprinkled them with the spice blend, but only on one side.

See?

I baked them in a 375 degree F oven for about 25 minutes.

Then I flipped over the wings to the other side.

And sprinkled them with more spices.

   

Then back in the oven they went for another 20 minutes.

While those were going, I went rummaging through my fridge to see what produce I could use up.

Since I have an overabundance of potatoes, I went that route.

I just wedged a couple sweet potatoes and tossed them with olive oil, rosemary, thyme, salt and pepper.

Onto a sheet pan they went and in the oven for 20 minutes or so.

It also should be noted that I flipped the chicken wings back over to the side they started on and popped them back in for 10 minutes to finish.

A few minutes of waiting and dinner is served!

Ketchup on the side for the sweet potato wedges of course 🙂

  

I love these wings for a few reasons…

1. SO freaking flavorful.  Plus you can customize the spices in a million different ways. No sauce needed.

2. No frying!! Which means no messy fry oil to clean up. Major points!

3. Crispy, delicious skin. Oh yeah, I said it.

I also was a good girl and ate my veggies in the form of a salad.

Romaine lettuce, avocado, red onion, Cherokee purple tomato, corn, black beans, feta cheese and a homemade fig balsamic vinaigrette.

You know come to think of it, that salad would have been good on its own for dinner.

But hey, it’s Sunday and I wanted a feast.

Plus now I have leftovers for tomorrow.  Winning!

Alright this girl’s got some reality tv shows to watch! Hellooo Real Housewives and Kardashians.

Please don’t judge me.

[What are your favorite reality shows?]

Goodnight!

Vanessa 🙂

P.S.  Planning on choosing an ingredient for the secret ingredient challenge this week.  It has not been decided yet, so open for suggestions and ideas!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2011 7:17 pm

    Yum! I’m not a big fan of chicken wings (just because they don’t have a lot of meat), but you might have converted me.

    I’m thinking peaches, because I have a lot on hand! Haha 🙂

    • August 8, 2011 8:18 pm

      I think it’s just one of those things that I ate as a child that just stuck with me, you know? But I only make them the way my Mom did! Boo frying, especially at home! Hmm peaches might be an option. I’m planning on going to one of the afternoon farmer’s markets tomorrow after work to pick something. Fingers crossed 🙂 P.S. I’d like to see what you do with peaches anyway!! Haha.

Leave a Reply

