Skip to content

To The Market

June 25, 2011

Today is Saturday!

You know what that means!

Farmer’s Markets!

I really should just make this a series of about all of the farmer’s markets that I go to.

How cool would that be?

I headed to Atherton Mill Market first.

They’ve added quite a few vendors since the first time I came to shop here.

I’m glad to see the market doing so well!

Do you see what I see?!

Roots food truck!!  Score.

They had two options for breakfast today.

 One was a breakfast burrito.

-Scrambled Egg with Sweet Corn and Tomato Salsa, Cilantro, and Crisp Greens.-

It sounded good, but the other option sounded way better to me.

I chose the breakfast hash.

–Fresh From the Market Veggies Sautéed Together and Topped with Spicy Tomato Aioli and an Over Easy Windy HIll Egg–

I enjoyed my breakfast while sitting on a bench soaking in some fresh air and live music.

Have I mentioned how much I love Saturdays?

After breakfast, I drove up to the Charlotte Regional Farmer’s Market.

I think everybody and their mother was there today.

I roamed around for a while and scored a few pretty good deals.

Then I drove home to unload my bounty.

So what did I get?

I saw these small cucumbers and instantly go the desire to make pickles.

Not sure how I’m going to do it yet, but I’ll brainstorm later.

I also was instantly drawn into these fresh peas pods.

   

Their colors were awesome.  I don’t think I’ve seen colored pea pods before.

I haven’t thought up a plan for these yet.

I also got a pint of cherry tomatoes to use throughout the week.

I haven’t decided whether or not I want to roast them, use them in salads or in a bruschetta.

I also picked up a huge bag of basil.

Since my basil is dead, I have to resort to buying it again. Sigh.

   

Whatever I don’t use out of this bag, will be turned into pesto.

Mmmh. Pesto.

I visited the Grateful Growers booth and chatted with the guy about chorizo and how good it is.

So then i bought some.

I’m keeping this is in my freezer for a rainy day.

Or until I think of an incredibly delicious idea to use it for.

I also picked up one dozen fresh farm eggs.

   

I love buying eggs from the farmer’s market.

I think it’s a mental thing.

I picked up a french baguette while I was there.

Why? Because I was needing some bread in my life.

Plus I still had tomatoes on the brain, which meant bruschetta, which needs bread.

My mind works in weird ways.

Then I scored the best things EVER!!!

Fresh squash blossoms!

Do you guys know how long I’ve been craving these things??

I chatted with the nice gentleman at the booth and he said he has them every week.

Lies I say.

He said that you have to get there early in the morning.  I’ll have to check it out.

At any rate, he combined the last of his blossoms into one giant bag and sold it to me for a ridiculously cheap price.

Seriously that made my day.

These are definitely getting cooked to go with dinner tonight.

I’m thinking stuffed and fried.

Yep, I’m excited.

Well hope you enjoyed my farmer’s market findings today!

Tune in next time! 🙂

Vanessa

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2011 4:10 pm

    Yumm!! I love zucchini blossoms. I’ve had them stuffed with goat cheese before and it was so awesome. Even just lightly fried with a splash of lemon juice is great. They are so hard to find!

    • June 25, 2011 8:41 pm

      They were so good! I stuffed and fried them. I’ll post about them tomorrow. Goat cheese sounds amazing!

  2. Gail permalink
    June 25, 2011 4:32 pm

    Can’t wait to hear how the zuchini blossoms turn out. I wondfer how much longer they will be available

    • June 25, 2011 8:43 pm

      They turned out wonderful! I’ll post the details tomorrow. I’m not sure about the availability though.

  3. June 25, 2011 5:28 pm

    I bought the same cucumbers!

Trackbacks

  1. Squash Blossoms « Life Undeveloped.
  2. Wrap-up: Atherton Market | Belle Terre
  3. Wrap-up: Atherton Market | belleterrenc.com

Leave a comment