Skip to content

Chow Down

June 2, 2011

Today is Thursday and you know what that means…

Food truck hopping!

I seriously think this may become a weekly thing for me.

This is the third week for the rally here in Charlotte.

This time I had a plan, not like the first time I came to the rally.

I met up with the always lovely Julie and first hit up the Roaming Fork food truck!

We stood in line the first week for what seemed like an eternity at this truck and came up empty handed because they were sold out of food!

So we had our priorities!!

Lucky for me they had some of the same things on the menu again this week.

I got the blackened fish tacos to start.

These were messy but delicious.

I love fish tacos.

It came with a side of red cabbage slaw.

I’m not a huge slaw fan to begin with, so this was mediocre to me.

I think I would of enjoyed the slaw on the taco better.

I still finished it all though.

I also needed to try their fried deviled eggs.

This was one of the things I wanted last time, but they ran out of.

Verdict?

Pretty stinkin’ delicious.

It was pretty much like egg salad in fried form.

They came with a side of honey mustard dipping sauce, which to me gave it the tang I was searching for.

Julie got this amazing looking grilled cheese sandwich from their truck.

It was on sourdough bread and had pulled pork, tomato and cheese on it.

Can you say yum?

Speaking of grilled cheese, you should check out Julie’s blog and see her fantastic grilled cheese creation 🙂

Anyways, back to the food trucks.

Roots food truck had these delicious look pork belly sandwiches with cucumber and a blueberry chipotle sauce.

I didn’t taste them, but Julie and her friend got them and said they were awesome!

Mmh. Melt in your mouth pork belly. SO good.

Roots also had some truffle popcorn available too!

We talked for a while and digested our food and then I was needing something for my ailing sweet tooth.

Cue Southern Cake Queen!

There were lots of flavors to chose from, but ultimately I went with the Lemon Drop.

This was yummy! I love lemon flavored things.

While I was eating my cupcake, we enjoyed a spontaneous belly dancing show.

Serious props to this lady.

It takes a lot of courage to go out in front of a crowd and shake what God gave you.

Lord knows I don’t have that courage.

Then last but certainly not least, I saw another cupcake truck that wasn’t there the first time I came to the rally.

This one was called Cupcake Delirium.

They had lots of interesting flavors.  I was dead set on the green tea flavor until I saw this.

Yeah, that would be bacon, on a cupcake.  Aka “The Elvis”.

This was pretty awesome.

I think this was a banana cupcake with a peanut butter frosting and candied bacon on top.

We all know how much I love candied bacon.

It was an overall successful dinner via food trucks!  I can’t wait to come back and try some more things!

Every time I come to the rally, it makes me really want a food truck.

Seriously how fun would that be?  I’ve already brainstormed a bunch of ideas in my head.

Why? I have no idea.

Now I’m off to watch a movie and make a packing list for Texas!

Have a good night!

Vanessa 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2011 8:53 am

    Oh how I LOVE food trucks! We’ve got several in Denver and am freaking for them. My favorite, which I am still thinking about is the homemade ice cream sandwiches from Max Lunch (here in Denver)…SOOOO GOOD!

    Now I want some food truck food 🙂

    • June 6, 2011 9:24 am

      I love street food!! They are just starting to get popular here in Charlotte and I’m so excited!! Homemade ice cream sandwiches?! Yum!!

Leave a comment