Skip to content

Friday Things

July 1, 2011

So it’s Friday.

Everyone else is excited for getting out of work and preparing for their long, food-filled, firework bonanza of a weekend.

Not me.

I’ve been rushing around like a mad woman all day, trying to accomplish everything that I need to get done before Sunday.

Can’t say I’m thrilled to miss the fourth I thought I would be having, but we have to do what we have to do sometimes.

Right?!  Right.

In the midst of running around I did manage to do a few things.

I made these cookies.

They were really good.  Like insanely good.

I wish I could take credit for the recipe but I can’t.

That Joy the Baker is a smart cookie. <–Pun intended! 🙂

I had some help eating these cookies.  [Thank God].

We washed them down with watermelon aqua frescas  [unpictured, plus fresh mint and minus the strawbs + o.j]

They were delicious.

I’m about 80% done with my packing.

Not too far from my goal, but there’s still a few hours left of the night!

In an effort to rid my refrigerator of produce, I had a mish mash of a dinner.

I roasted broccoli, tomatoes and a red bell pepper.

They tasted fabulous.

Then I went a little crazy.

I combined both the carrot and pea puree with the corn salsa from the other day in a bowl.

Added some breadcrumbs, flavorings and seasonings.

I formed them into patties, seared them and baked them in the oven.

Then I made a pesto cream to go on top.

It’s like a weird version of a veggie burger.

It was not a perfected recipe, but it got rid of my leftovers and gave me nutrients.

Job well done I say.

I also crossed almost everything off my list.

Yes, I make a lot of lists.

I think it’s like a nervous tick or something.

I’m always afraid that I’m going to forget about something, therefore I write it down.

Notice the only two things left uncrossed, vacuum and clean car and bills.

HA, bills.  That’s a good one.

I browsed a few recipes for pickles today too.

I’m one of the most indecisive people you’ll ever meet, so I couldn’t choose just one recipe to go with.

So after some research I decided that I was just going to wing it and see what happened.

I started with some sliced cucumbers, onion, sugar and salt in a bowl.

I let them sit there for a few hours.

Then I drained them.

In a pot I brought apple cider vinegar, sugar, mustard seeds, coriander seeds, fennel seeds, pinch of curry [didn’t have turmeric!] and peppercorns to a boil.

Once boiling, I took it off the heat and added the drained cucumbers and onions to hot brining liquid.

I put the pot back on the heat and brought it up to a simmer.

Then I let the mixture cool and eventually transferred it to a jar.

Well they look okay so far.

All I can do is screw the lid on tight, pop them in the fridge and hope they taste like a pickle when I return from my work trip.

Fingers crossed.

At least it’s not an expensive experiment.

Alright well I hope you all had a great Friday!!

I think I’m going to tease myself and go to the market tomorrow, even though I can’t buy any produce.  Boo!

At least I can count on a good breakfast and cup of coffee there!

Goodnight!

Vanessa 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2011 12:36 am

    Unrelated… but I love your comforter! So cute!

Trackbacks

  1. Since I’ve Been Home « Life Undeveloped.

Leave a comment